The Story of Lockwood Community
The Centennial Book Committee 1967
The long awaited Centennial Year 1967 has arrived. We turn our eyes backward and review the happenings. Young and old studied our history books. The little ones became familiar with the figure of Sir John A.MacDonald on television.
It was exciting to be part of Canada’s birthday celebrations. The country came to the fore as it played host to the world at Expo ’67. Our Province showed up very well there too. It is a challenge to us to keep up this image. Our own corner has undergone many changes in the past sixty years.
This little attempt called “The Story of Lockwood Community” is intended to preserve for the coming generations, some record of the homestead days with all its excitement and color and of the subsequent development of the community. It is dedicated to the pioneers.
As well as stories of the past, it should express hope and confidence for the future. What happens now depends upon what we do with what others have left us.Margaret V. Stephenson
There was a time when this part of the North-West Territories was known as the Great Salt Plain and written off as useless and unfit for white people or for agricultural purposes. Explorers no doubt passed through the Alkali Flats to the East of here and thought all the land was like that. They found the water very bitter but had no way of knowing that sweet water could be found by drilling deeply.
The Lockwood community comprises part of four municipalities, Usbourne #310 in which the village lies, Prairie Rose #309, Wreford #280 and Mount Hope #279. Little has been found of early Indian habitation in the district. The first homesteaders reported it to be absolutely bare prairie with no trace of shrubbery. All trees and bushes had been burnt off by prairie fires.
Some Indian stones have been found and such utensils used for the pounding of corn. It is believed that this part of the plain was used by the Indians for hunting, evidenced by the herds of antelope seen by the earliest settlers and the finding of arrowheads and the whole skeletons of buffalo.
It is a far cry from that spring day in 1905 when James Kidd, Archie and Willie McFarlane looked west across the fields of tall waving prairie grass and saw the sun glistening on the tents of the C. P. R. surveyor’s camp. The location of which was one mile south of the present village of Lockwood.
In the winter of 1905-06 W. A. McFarlane applied for a post office at Archie McFarlane’s shack on 4-31-21-W-2 where the Shearer family now live. He was appointed postmaster and his sister Tina as assistant postmistress. This office was called McFarlane and served the district from Drake, South to near Tate, West past Lockwood and East to the Big Alkali.
Miss Tina McFarlane was never lonely in those days as homesteaders who were flocking in fast kept her busy. Later she married James Kidd and now lives in Nokomis.
We dedicate this book to the memory of the pioneers of the Lockwood Community, who through their hard work and perseverance made this part of our country a good place for us to live.
They were people of simple faith. One of their intents was to glorify God. This ideal endowed them with faith and daring; in life and in death they were unashamed and unafraid.Margaret V. Stephenson
The village of Lockwood is situated about equal distance from the cities of Regina and Saskatoon, roughly 100 miles from each.
The name was given to it by one of the C. P. R. officials.
The land around is gently rolling prairie and is good brown loam suitable for wheat growing. A stretch of alkali flats about 3-4 miles wide lies directly to the East. This is known as the “Little Alkali”.
The Little Wolverine Creek, about three miles South, flows southwest through the farm once known as “Tom Miller’s Ranch” and later as the Hislop place and now owned by Hilton Hughes. It eventually ends up in Last Mountain Lake. The Big Wolverine now known as Lanigan Creek is West of the village.
The water in the district is generally good. Several flowing wells are in operation; – one on the Hislop farm and one on the L. A. Hummason farm. Wells on the Stinchcomb and Redford farms have now ceased to flow, but a fine new flow was put into operation at the home of Jerry Langteigne in 1966. A test oil well called Imperial Lockwood was found to be a wildcat well. Several exploratory holes have been tested for Potash.
John Howat was another early settler. He came from Alexander, Manitoba and home-steaded East of Lockwood. When the schoolhouse in the area was built, it bore his name.
Some houses were built of sod, which was cool in summer and warm in winter; – and the sod could be had for the taking. Some frame houses were also built. One old-timer, Mrs. Paul Smith, now living at Nipawin, Sask. tells of the thrill it was to hear the sound of hammers ringing early in the morning until late at night as the buildings went up.
Many of the settlers were young men in their late teens and early twenties who came in search of adventure; intended to prove up on the homesteads and return to ‘civilization’. One person was allowed to ride in a car of settlers’ effects but many a homesteader found his way out here without benefit of a railway ticket.
The winter of 1906 and 1907 was a very long one. They called it the winter of the blue snow. In a letter sent to me by Tom Miller, an early Lockwood pioneer who now lives at Saltcoats, he states that the snow was four feet deep on the level. The story is told that Swede Erickson went on skis to McFarlane Post Office to get mail on April 4th, 1907 and he found a gopher had dug through four feet of snow.
The same winter Adam Smith who homesteaded SE 34-31-21-W2, went down East to Devlin, Ont. in the Rainy River district to work. He left his family consisting of his wife and three little daughters with his brother Bill and his brother-in-law Herb Shea here. Someone at Devlin read from a Winnipeg newspaper about the severe conditions in this area and they relayed the news to Adam. As he had not had any letters from his family for some time, due no doubt to the difficulty in getting letters to the mail, he became very worried and immediately took the train for Humboldt. This was in the latter part of January. When he arrived there, he set out at daylight to walk to his homestead some forty miles distant. A blizzard from the northeast was raging. He took his bearings from that and kept the wind on his left shoulder. Had the wind changed the story might have been different. A snowdrift built up on his shoulder and kept his face from freezing. He arrived at the homestead about twelve o’clock midnight and spent the rest of the night thawing out his beard.
Other hardships due to the long hard winters was the problem of fuel. Wood had to be hauled from the wooded parts; some settlers went to the Lanigan district or Sinnett and some to the Touchwood Hills.
Mrs. Ellard Ellis has the following story to tell, “in December 1906, Ellard Ellis and Albert Coleman left their homesteads each with a team of oxen and sleighs and headed for the Touchwood Hills forty-five miles away. The temperature was around forty below zero. They were in search of dry wood. When they got there, they looked around and finally each cut a load. They slept out in the open on some hay they had taken along to feed their oxen. It took five and one half days to make the round trip. As the years went by they got some horses and this made the trip a little easier.
Crops of oats were sown on spring breaking so there would be grain for the horses. Oxen did not require grain; they could subsist and work with only the prairie grass to eat.
Tom Miller of Saltcoats, Sask. writes the following: “I came to the district south of Lockwood in March, 1906. The Little Wolverine Creek was running two feet deep then. I plowed about fifteen acres and seeded it to clean oats and got five hundred bushels which I sold for seed at 50 cents per bushel. The next year, 1907 I seeded wheat on the 19th of May. It yielded well and graded No. 3 at Nokomis elevator. I used to load up my wagon in the evening and head
out before daylight. When I arrived there was three or four loads ahead of me waiting for the elevator to open. The farmers were in the hotel. Some oxen were used then and some horses. ”
The variety of wheat used was Red Fife which some old-timers claim was the best wheat ever grown. Early frosts were common until the land was all broken up. Jeff Rote broke land for himself and others with a steam outfit.
Mrs. Garry Wood tells of her brothers, Hugh and Archie Bell who hauled wood from the Touchwood Hills in the winter, cut it into cordwood and used it for fuel in their steam engine and broke their land with a 12 bottom plow.
Tom Miller’s letter (continued): ‘Our Grain Growers Association served as a debating club. It was strong and had a capable Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. Harry Waldron, Mr. Frank Stinchcomb was President. We met in Magees’ Hall over their store. One year there was tough grain. Petitions were out to get distribution of cars under a committee. We fought it as hard as we could. The Secretary Harry Waldron saw the notice in the Post Office. We took the matter up with our first M. P. Dr. Neely of Humboldt; (largest constituency in Canada). The Tory government at Ottawa passed a bill putting distributing cars under a committee. The Grain Growers were howling and writing everywhere and the Senate threw out the bill. It was behind the government and the money lenders. Provincial Grits at Regina set aside 2 million dollars and we got the Co-op. Elevator (nest egg for the present pool). The government at Ottawa voted 100 million dollars for drying elevators and we got one at Saskatoon.
Later on the Borden outfit at Ottawa was ready to send pure bred animals to Saskatchewan. We were ‘Johnnie on the Spot’ and organized a Livestock Association. Frank Stinchcomb was President and I was Secretary. We met in the lobby of the hotel. We applied to Ottawa and we got a Pure Bred Milking strain of Shorthorns that came from Quebec. Later, we got a ram and a boar.
The wheat was cut with a binder and stooked by hand. A little story is told of four homesteaders, Bob Plaster, John Sweeney, George Turner and Dick Stephenson who bought a six foot binder between them. John Sweeny and Dick Stephenson had horses and the other two had oxen. One Sunday Plaster and Turner decided to hitch up the oxen to the binder unknown to the other two. The noise of the binder frightened the animals and they ran off. When they finally came to a halt in a slough the binder was badly damaged. It was a long way to go for repairs.
The short tough grass known as “prairie wool” which grew on the high land made excellent fodder for horses. They needed very little grain with it. One homesteader, Ellard Ellis, speaking at a banquet in later years said he would really like to meet the man who planted the “prairie wool”.
The threshing was done with large steam outfits which were few and far between.These outfits travelled many miles and threshed early in the morning until late at night and well into the early winter. Some were owned by Sweeney, Smith and McKinnon, Jeff Rote, Herman Housan, Archie and Hugh Bell and Jim Anderson, and Lewis Hummason. Some had cook cars with them. Some outfits did not have a sleeping ‘Caboose’ and the crew had to sleep in the barn, granary or ‘what have you’. Some even slept in the hen house. Getting to sleep was not a problem after long hours of work in the fresh air.
Cooking for the threshers presented a problem to the bachelors. Some would get their neighbours’ wives to “feed” the men. Some independent souls did the cooking themselves. Serving good food well cooked was a must and a source of pride too.
Pioneer Story – Mr. And Mrs. Malcom Cumming
Mack and myself and two children, Mollie and Carl landed in Strasbourg on December 22nd, 1905 on a mixed train in company with Mrs. James Meikle Jr. and baby Elsie and Johnnie Meikle. We stayed overnight in Strasbourg. There was very little snow so we hired a team and wagon to take us north. The first day we travelled 25 or 30 miles to Mr. Niven’s place where we spent the night. The next morning we started on the long trip to what is now known as the Richfarms district. Hugh Niven took us on sleighs as there was considerable snow from the north. There were no trails – we just followed general directions. We saw no habitation until about four o’clock when we reached the Potter homestead. We were all very cold and tired but we only took enough time to get warmed up and to get directions to Meikle’s little red shack. We arrived there after dark on Christmas Eve and were we ever glad to see a light shining across the bleak, barren expanse of snow. There were 13 of us staying in the shack that night. How it ever was accomplished is a standing mystery. I only know that sardines had nothing on us.
The Meikle boys and Mack finished a house for Mr. Reeves and then built our shack early in January. They had quite a time locating the marker to know where to build. We’d brought our winter supplies, meat, flour, groceries, etc., but we ran out of coal oil. Mack managed to make some candles out of tallow and we got by with them until early spring. Finally someone as needy as us struck out to Strasbourg and got supplies.
The people living in the district at that time were the Potters, the Kemptons, Bob Carter, Herman Graham, the Meikle boys, Jimmie Meikle and his wife, Willie, Johnnie and Bill Kee, Jack Howat, Tom Passett, the MacFarlane boys, James Kidd, Webb McLelland and Mrs. Rowand and family.
When we went in, we never expected to get mail, so we were overjoyed to find a post office right close by at MacFarlanes in their little shack. Mail nights people came from far and near, waiting for the mail driver to arrive.
Our social life was terrific. Everyone belonged to the Elite 400, so we all visited and held house parties. We had many passing travellers who were glad to get a meal or a bed on the floor. Shortly after we moved into our shack, we saw three men running across the prairie. They banged on the door and it was quite amusing to see their surprised look when they saw a woman inside. They said they just thought it was some guy batching. It turned out that they were our neighbours, Webb and George McLelland and Al McKenzie. We enjoyed a grand visit and had lots of laughs.
During the next spring and summer, people flocked in – Beelers, Skippons, the rest of the McLelland family, Mr. and Mrs. Meikle Sr., Duncan and Lottie and quite a lot to the Howat and Haliburton districts. Practically everyone passing through stopped at the Meikle’s red shack and no one ever went without a meal or a bed if they needed it. The welcome sign was always out at the red shack as it was the only place on the north and east trails. The meeting place for all was the Post Office, where everyone got acquainted. After Tena MacFarlane (now Mrs. Jas. Kidd) came, I’m sure she never had time to be lonely. She was kept busy with people coming and going and she was great company for me, being so near.
We didn’t have any luxuries, we didn’t expect much and we didn’t get much. About our only worries were having a place to live, enough to eat and enough fuel to keep warm in the wintertime. Fuel was our biggest problem as we had a long way to go to get it and the teepee had to be pretty large to last through the winter. Mosquitoes are worthy of mention, though impossible to describe. We had no screens for the doors or windows and there was no comfort or rest until the wind blew too hard for them, the blood-thirsty savages.
Our first year we had no animals. The following year we got a lame horse we used to ride. It was lots of fun for the children and much better than walking. I think our first chickens were a few hatched under a wild duck. I wonder if the old-timers remember the bad prairie fires those first years. We had such a sweep of open prairie. In the fall of 1907 when the construction trains were moving up farther and gangs laying track, fires started so often. We just lived in dread of them. One fire that fall burnt up to Drake and Lanigan and then came back. We knew by the wind that we’d get it. We managed to shut our two cows and our pet pig in the sod stable and to set filled water barrels out at our double fire-guard. Just after dark we could see it roaring across the prairie. We lit our backfire. The wind was very high. Sparks and tufts of grass lit inside
the fire-guard. We worked desperately to keep fires from starting and managed to keep them back. In an hour or so there was nothing but black ground as far as we could see. That fire went right past, east of Nokomis up a mile or two and right through the flats. Everyone lost hay and feed but we were fortunate not to suffer any real hardship. Mrs. Cumming has since passed on.
Early settlers came from many different countries and many walks of life. There was no large group of any one religion or culture. They came from countries beyond the sea such as England, Scotland, Russia and Switzerland; from old and new Ontario, Manitoba, Quebec, Prince Edward Island, also from such States as Iowa, Minnesota and Indiana. This had a definite bearing on the community life as a whole because all had the one hope of making a new life in a new land. Each respected the other and accepted their customs.
The early days were hard and sometimes lonely, no one had much in the way of worldly possessions. The settlers came by train with their effects to Humboldt, some forty-five miles north to Strasbourg, fifty miles south and to Davidson, fifty miles south-west. Sometimes the possessions were piled all around the railway stations but nothing was ever stolen or harmed. Settlers’ cars were loaded with everything needed for the new home, as well as horses, cattle, machinery and some brought lumber in the bottom of the car. They started out with wagons loaded and cattle if any, tied on behind. When night came, if they were still on the trail, a rough shelter was put up, a fire built, a meal prepared and the animals and men lay down to sleep. Upon arriving at their homesteads, houses were built as soon as possible either of sod or lumber brought with them.
Supplies of food were laid in during the fall, mainly staples such as dried beans, flour, syrup, tea, sugar, salt and dried fruit. Salt pork was a great standby.
Ready cash was scarce. Sometimes at the railway points food became in short supply; in fact some tell that for a little while in Humboldt all that there was to eat in the restaurants was eggs. One hungry homesteader was annoyed when told this by the waitress. “Well then, ” he said, “Give me a dozen”. She came back from the kitchen and apologetically said, “We have only eleven, sir!”
Breaking up the sod of new country was a thrill and the open stretches free of trees was a great relief to men who had chopped large trees and grubbed out roots in the East. With the coming of the railway in 1907, living became a little easier. The village began to take shape and people no longer had those long trips to make on foot. Ellard Ellis and Lew Hummason tell of walking to Regina and back – one hundred miles each way. They suffered no serious effects other than badly swollen feet.
It has been said that very little illness was known amongst the early settlers here. One reason was that the population was young, as very few old people cared to face the rigours of pioneering. However, sickness and death came to some and when it did in the depths of winter it was indeed tragic. When this occurred, some kind of a flag would be put up high on the house where it could be seen for miles around, or if it was night time, a lighted lantern on a long pole was used. Neighbors were always on the lookout for each other’s well being and the absence of a light in a window or smoke coming from a chimney was cause for alarm. People were buried on their farms before the cemetery was staked out. A small clump of chokecherry bushes near No. 20 highway north of Lockwood marks the graves of two little children of a pioneer family.
The following is a list of Lockwood homesteaders: Angus and Hector McKinnon, Andy Evenson, Andy Angman, Bill and Joe Mighton, Frank Stinchcomb, Ed Gardiner, R. Plaster, Adam, Bob, Charlie, Tom and Paul Smith, Kenny Purvis, Clyde Morningstar, Lewis Hummason, Roscoe Coutts, Mike Killeen, Harry Dewar, W. Chopper, W. Brown, Albion Norton, Fred Meissner, Sandy McLean, Tom Miller, Tom Pitt, R. T. Stephenson, George Turner, Bob Magee, A. D. McLeod, Jim McLeod, W. Ewert, Bill Boles, Dorsey Eckleberry, W. Mcleod, John Blackport, Bill Blackport, John Sweeney, W. A. Armour, Henry Herr, Dave Krell, Mel McCullough, Harry Waldron, George Abbot, Shorty Sailor, Stewart McLean
Arthur Burrall, Alec McKay, Ernie McCelland, Percy Tate, Ed and Fred Martin, Isaac Coleman, and Frank Stinchcomb.
Original settlers remaining here are Lewis Hummason, who is the only one still living on his homestead. Andrew Forner, J. T. Edwards, Ellard Ellis, R. T. Stephenson, Freda (Eytcheson) Kane, Mrs. Margery (Bell) Wood. Hank Kane has a home in Lockwood but lives in Regina. Mrs. (Anna McKinnon) Wilson and Mrs. Anna Herr, and Mrs. Eva Meissner, Mrs. Maurice Hurley who came to the country in 1913 also still lives in her little home one mile east of Lockwood.
In 1955 a banquet honoring the early pioneers was held by the Prairie Rose and Usbourne Homemakers to celebrate Saskatchewan’s Golden Jubilee. Many old-timers were present from various points in the country. They spent a ‘never to be forgotten evening’ reminiscing. An historical pageant called “Saskatchewan” was presented by sixty-four local people.
The Lockwood community is noted for its fine bridal showers, “it makes one feel so very special” one bride who came from another locality remarked.
There is now in Lockwood a large Pool Elevator, capacity 100,000 bushels, dial telephones, also Federal grain Elevator, Mercury Vapor street lights, oiled Main street and an artery to Highway 20, large curling rink, covered skating rink, a good General Store, Garage and implement distributor, attractive and well kept Community Hall and Legion Hall, Bulk Oil Station, fine School with two teacherages. The cheerful red glow from Lockwood Micro Wave Tower on Highway No. 20 greets the returning citizens at night. Well kept streets and attractive homes with green lawns, trees and flowers add to the pleasures of living in the village.
The Sask. Co-operative Elevator Co. was organized in 1913. The Saskatchewan Elevator was bought out. The Maple Leaf and Searle Grain Company operated here in earlier years too. They were both bought out by the Federal Grain Company which is still here with Len Funk as buyer.
In 1923 and 1924 the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool took over the Sask. Co-op. Co. and grain elevator. Neil McKenzie was President of the first Wheat Pool Committee and Lewis Hummason was Secretary.
In 1955 a large Pool elevator with a capacity of 100,000 bushels was built and opened with a special ceremony with the oldest member Lewis Hummason and the youngest member, George Hummason and the Director and Delegate, Albert Greenfield participating. The crowd was piped to the community hall by Piper Scotty Cameron of Regina where further speeches and celebrations took place.
Some grain buyers that have come and gone are Mr. Hogg, 1st buyer for Saskatchewan Elevator Company, E.D. Gardiner, Lou and Cole Davies, Peter Barber, who spent many years here, Gordon Urquhart, Mr. Muir, Mr. Smith, W. Dodsworth and others.
In 1964, R. H. Plaster, Pool agent since 1939 and at Lockwood since 1945 was presented with a gold watch in recognition of 25 years as grain buyer with the company.
The Flu Epidemic of 1918
Mrs. L. A. Hummason, The former Miss Estella Stubbs
The war in Europe was over ! But people hadn’t finished rejoicing when rumours of the terrible Spanish Influenza, which was sweeping Europe, brought fear again. Would it come to America? Soon the dreaded answer came. Flu had come to the eastern cities of Canada, then to the townships, to Manitoba and finally here to the cities of Saskatchewan.
One day, while walking from school Miss Carmichael and I saw a group of ladies in front of the bank. When we joined them we found that they were planning ways in which we might be able to prevent the flu from reaching Lockwood. They planned to stay at home as much as possible and if it were necessary to leave the community, they’d wear masks dipped in oil of eucalyptus, which was believed to have preventive powers. In this way a small community like Lockwood might escape the epidemic.
Their hopes and their efforts were in vain. The news soon reached us that several were sick in Nokomis. One evening, when we teachers walked into Mr. Cressman’s store, we found him near the front door, muttering under his breath and looking very grim. The one other occupant of the store was Mr. Brown who was huddled over the stove and coughing. He kept saying, “Why doesn’t Bill come? I’m all in. ” We hurried out but unfortunately the damage had been done. The Spanish Influenza had reached Lockwood! One of the first to become ill was my fellow teacher, Miss Carmichael. As soon as she had recovered enough, she returned to her home.
The next two months were very hectic. The schools were closed and the large one was used as a hospital while the small one became a nurses’ residence. In the hotel, almost everyone got sick at once. Two of them, Glenwood Schinner and his sister Violet, became critical. They both recovered but Glenwood died the following year as a result of complications.
Many sick parents in the community could not care for their children so the McLeod house, which was vacant that year, was used for sick children. The babies given into our care were a problem to us who know nothing about formulas or bathing, babies. Dr. Brown thrust a baby into my arms one day and when I protested, said, “If you can teach school, you can look after her!” She smelled of onion poultice and soured milk. I asked him what to feed her. As he went out the door, he said, “Give her half milk and half water”, and was gone. What should I do? Mrs. Wallace supplied me with a nice box of clean baby clothes and we bathed and changed our baby. When she was happily sucking her bottle, we got our handy man, Harold Seldon to come and see her. She was a lovely, contented baby and did not complain of the inadequate care she received.
Everyone who could help did so willingly. Two trained nurses, Mrs. Anderson and another, helped for a time in the community. My good friend Eadie Philips, now Mrs. Cumming of Saskatoon and I helped wherever we could. Most of us were untrained and so made many mistakes even though we tried as best we could. Some of the men, such as Lew Hummason, Harold Seldon, Mr. Wallace and the Vonderloh boys, willingly carried fuel and water and emptied pails. Some of the ladies such as Mrs. Gardiner, made soup and did huge washings. The two doctors from Nokomis helped but often overlapped on their calls and we’d find two lots of medicine left in one place.
Of course, we had no penicillin then and no one thought of using steam to treat pneumonia. We just used cough medicine, camphorated oil and many, many mustard plasters.
There were moments when we found something to laugh at. There were two wards in the school, – one for men and one for women. Many of the men were bachelors who took the opportunity to get lots of attention. None of the children required as much waiting on! One of these, Shorty Cope, stayed on as a handy man after he had recovered. He couldn’t believe that he had made as many demands – as those who were still ill – but he had. One night one of the men was delirious. He suddenly sat up in bed, surveyed the wards very critically and shouted, “Well I declare ! They’ve all got crooked noses !”
One night in a farm home where everyone was ill, I tried to feed a poor little three month old baby with a spoon. That was a terrible night – walking the floor with the poor baby crying righteously and trying to care for a very sick mother. In the morning help finally came. Later two members of the St. John Ambulance Association were brought in to care for this family.
One well-known resident, Maurice Hurley, became very, very ill, but as the flu was then waning, a trained nurse was found to care for him, after we had helped for a few days.
By Christmas the worst was over although a few got sick in the wintertime. There were many tragic deaths – among them were Percy Tate, Laurie Armstrong, Nellie Rick, Mrs. Pitt and her baby, Kenny Purvis and Stuart McLean.
Looking back we should all be thankful for the miracles of modern medicine. Pneumonia has few terrors today.
Sometime during the winter of 1913-1914 a general meeting of all the interested ratepayers was held in the school in Lockwood. It was resolved to proceed with the construction of West Lockwood Telephone System. The original signing officials were D. B. Musselman, President and Harry Waldron, Secretary. Harry Waldron bought the first share which is now in the possession of Art Joa. It was dated April 1st, 1915. Later E. D. Gardiner became Secretary and Oscar Magnes and Frank Stinchcomb were on the Board.
The first telephone operators were A. D. McLeods and the switchboard was located in their home on the north side of Main Street. Bessie Turner was assistant operator.
About 1918 the Telephone Board purchased the building (on the lane) north of Percy Tate’s residence, now Lester Meikle’s and subsequently converted it into a Telephone Exchange and dwelling.
During the construction of the West Lockwood System including installation of many town telephones, the East Lockwood Telephone Company was formed and they built a system bounded by Drake area on the north, Jansen on the northeast and Nokomis to the south. They rented “switching privileges” in Lockwood from the West Lockwood Company and later joined the West Lockwood Company and the whole system was subsequently known as the Lockwood Telephone Company.
E. D. Gardiner was Secretary-Treasurer until 1963 when he moved to Regina and Leonard Funk took his position.
Mrs. Updike with Orville Smith as Maintenance man, Ted Fischer, with Mrs. Mary Fischer as “Central girl”, assisted by Miss Marjorie Pinkerton, and Grace Coleman, as well as Mr. and Mrs. Ritz took over for a while; in 1954 Mrs. Dumanski and her husband Nick were in charge of the switchboard.
The dial system came into operation in November, 1963 and Lockwood village became part of Saskatchewan Government Telephones. However, the Lockwood Rural Telephone Company still carries on with President – Art Joa and Secretary – Leonard Funk.Municipal Notes
The office of the Local Improvement District and Usbourne Municipality had their office in the engine room of the Sask. Elevator from 1908 to 1914. E. D. Gardiner was the Municipal Secretary. Later it was located in Mr. Gardiner’s home and then in the Lockwood Hotel until it burned down in 1951. The village built a Town Office then and it was used for both councils. Mr. Gardiner was Village Secretary also until he moved to Regina in 1963.
Mr. Gardiner served as Municipal Secretary-Treasurer for 53 years and John Ediger as reeve and councillor for 33 years.
Present Village Council is J. A. Birtles, Overseer, J. L. Ritz and Ed Meissner, R. H. Plaster, Secretary-Treasurer.
R.M. of Usborne # 310
The Council of the R. M. of Usborne No. 310 met at the Municipal Office at Lanigan on February 8th, 1967 with the following members present: Reeve, C.R. Morningstar and Councillors, Win. Meyer, Harold Gibney, Ken Carlson, Lawrence Stephan, John Wiebe and Elmer SchniderSocial Life
The clock has ticked away a great many hours, days and years since the social life in Lockwood began. It seems to us now, looking back, that we experienced many hardships to bridge the tide of social activity. We drove many miles with horse and buggy or box sleighs (well padded with straw and buffalo robes) to make our own pleasures.
We had a Literary Society which met once every two weeks at farm homes. The programs were entered into with great spirit, everyone taking part. After buildings were erected in the village, we assembled above the Ritz Hardware Store. We were then able to present more elaborate programs, original skits and lively debates with Bob Plaster as the chief debater. These were musical evenings with solos, duets and quartettes. Very often the same singers took part in all. Occasionally, baking contests were put on by the bachelors with prizes going to the best entries. These were especially good fun as the gentlemen took full charge of the evening’s entertainment. They even made and served the lunch. This society included everyone – men, women and children (no baby-sitters in those days !) Ed Ritz declared that when he went to bed at night he rolled in with bootees, nipples, diapers and what have you!
Visiting neighbours was a highlight of the social life – not a ten or fifteen minute call but an all day session of real companionship. We would hitch our team to the buggy or sleigh soon after breakfast and drive miles across the prairie for a visit. Then, in the twilight, we would-make the return journey full of good food and pleasant thoughts of a day well spent. Music, where it was available, made up part of the day’s pleasure. In some homes, family worship was a must before we left. Grace was always said before meals and I’m afraid the young people present mostly just prayed it wouldn’t be too long!
Surprise parties afforded much merriment in the winter months. We would meet at the nearest neighbours and then all bound in on the surprised family. There were no phones to spread the news so one never knew just when he would be taken by storm. However, there was usually plenty of food on hand to make lunch and, if seating was scarce, we just sat in a circle on the floor. We played games, told stories and had a sing fest – All very simple but heart-warming none the less.
There was a Quadrille Club which met once every two weeks above Cressman’s Store. Girls were at a premium in the year 1907 so you can imagine how leg weary we would be the next day. Mack Cumming supplied the music and, to my mind at that time, drew music from his violin that was out of this world. He would lovingly tuck his instrument under his chin, close his eyes and draw his bow to the ever beautiful “Humoresque”.
I have a vivid recollection of when we built the school in 1908. We arranged a Box Social to raise money to purchase the bell which pealed forth the school hour for so many years. Although my box brought the highest bid, I wasn’t pleased. Two of the local lads were bidding against each other and the one I wanted to have my box didn’t have enough money to out-bid the other. My lunch and gaily decorated box had been ruined as far as I was concerned.
The first Christmas concert was held that year. The whole community exchanged gifts. I particularly remember Miss Cummings, the first teacher, sang “Star of the East.
Later many fine Masquerade Dances were held in the old hall.People came from other towns and all the surrounding country. It was fun to suddenly find out that one was really dancing with a near neighbour. The costumes were beautiful, original, and becoming. Cares were forgotten for the night and everyone helped to make the evening a success. Prizes were also given for dancing and Mr. and Mrs. Charlie Campbell usually walked off with the lion’s share.
After the week of work and pleasure there was church service on Sunday. Services were first held in Cressman’s Store. Although there was no piano or organ we all sang most fervently. Some of our neighbours were trained artists. D. B. Musselman had a marvelous voice. The Moir brothers had had voice training and their sister was a music teacher. The Langille family were all musical. Miss Langille and I used to ride horseback to Lanigan once a week so that she could give music lessons.
Skating was enjoyed on Wolverine Creek that first winter. Bonfires would be lighted, skates donned and we would glide up and down under the light of a full moon.
Picnics were often held at Pitt’s bluff. Football, baseball and horse racing all had their place in the social life of the community.
The pioneers, their homes and their communities were largely self-sufficient and the entertainment for the most part was “home-made”. Perhaps this participation made it more enjoyable !
Photo 1 – MacFarlane P.O. Mr. And Mrs. MacFarlane in buggy
Photo 2 – Tena MacFarlane. Jimmy Kidd’s shack.
Photo 3 – Working on the railway crossing just north of Lockwood.
Photo 4 – W. Smith Sr. homestead shack
Photo 5 – Ardus, Monnie and Lloyd Anderson, and Mr. and Mrs. W. Reedy’s sod shack about 1910.
Photo 6 – Andy Forner breaking on J. Bonner’s homestead 4-31-23 in 1912.
Photo 7 – Touchwood Trail.
Photo 8 – Gardiner home built in 1910
Photo 9 – Homesteaders L. A. Hummason, Hector McKinnon and Dick Stephenson reminiscing.
Photo 1 -General Store 1913. Owners were Sweeney and McRitchie. John Sweeney at right behind counter; McRitchie by scale.
Photo 2 – Old-timers celebrate Mrs.(Killeen) Constantine’s birthday 1953, Mrs. (Ellis) Wilson, Mrs. Ruby Pinkerton, Mrs. Freda Kane, Mrs. Ellard Ellis, Mrs. (Killeen) Constantine
Photo 3 – Getting the winter’s water supply from John Ediger’s farm
Photo 4 – Alfred Anderson and his Clydes.
Photo 5 – Robert Lee and family on his homstead, 1908 Thornfield district
Photo 6 -Usborne and Prairie Rose Homemaker’s banquet for 1905 Pioneers, May 1955
Photo 1 – Frank Stinchcomb’s house 1909.
Photo 2 – Lockwood Band on Saturday night.
Photo 3 – Making roads in Usbourne Municipality.
Photo 4 – Mr. and Mrs. Maurice Hurley off for a drive.
Photo 5 – Store and dwelling, first place of business built by Robert Magee, R. Stephenson Jr. doing the face lifting in 1954.
Photo 6 – The Mel McCullogh farm in 1909.
Photo 7 – Ellard Ellis off to town.
Photo 8 – Lockwood station built in 1907.
Photo 9 – Some pioneers here by 1905 — At Golden Jubilee – Freda (Eytcheson) Kane, Mabel (McCullogh) Smith, Jean (Dewar) Smith (1909), Elva (Magee) Gillis, Bob Smith, Paul Smith, Maurice Hurley, Andrew Forner, Julius Bommer.
Photo 10 – 2nd store with hall above built by Robert Magee.
Photo 11 – Mac Cumming who supplied so much sweet music
Photo 12 – John Howat and great-nephew Jack Howat.
Photo 1 – Interior 1st Hardware Store 1913
Photo 2 – 1st Hardware Store, Ritz and Coblentz and McCullogh’s Restaurant 1907 or 1908
Photo 3 – Hardware in 1940’s, S. H. Amer.
Photo 4 – Mr. And Mrs. Julius Bommer, William and Gertrude in 1916, Model T. 1916
Photo 5 – Cressman’s Prize winning window display 1931, arranged by Mary Meissner.
Photo 6 – W. J. Ritz, Postmaster for 36 years.
Photo 7 – Community Hall built in 1939. Sponsored by Usborne Homemakers.
Photo 8 – Cemetery Memorial Gates and Pillars. Erected by Prairie Rose Homemakers, Howat Community and Lockwood Community. Sponsored by Prairie Rose Homemakers in 1960, 61, and 64.
Photo 9 – Lucky Dollar Store 1957, Owen Pederson, Pat Edwards.
It was in 1908 that Lockwood was incorporated as a village with 100 inhabitants. The members of the first village Council were – Louis Ritz, Chairman, J. G. Wallace, Secretary-Treasurer and Councillors Edwin Ritz and L. R. Davies.
The first building erected was a store and dwelling combined and owned by Robert Magee. It was later moved to the east side of Saskatchewan Avenue and a large store with a hall above was built in its place. The first residence was built by Alexander Ross on Graham Street. It was later converted in a poolroom and barber shop. Mr. Leadbeater operated this business for about a year. It was used in later years for a storeroom for telephone equipment and was finally torn down by Merner Ritz when he bought the lot.
C. S. Cressman built a general store on the corner of Main and Saskatchewan Avenue. This store was burned in the spring of 1935. A few years ago, J. L. Ritz, a son of Ed Ritz, tore it down and built himself a fine new modern home with the lumber. The first lumberyard was owned by J. G. Wallace. He sold his first four loads of lumber to Andy Angman, a bachelor who homesteaded one and one-half miles east of Lockwood, Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Wallace built a comfortable home in 1909 which is now occupied by the L. E. Morningstar family.
Mr. and Mrs. Mel McCullough opened a restaurant and confectionery store in the building which is now owned by Mr. and Mrs. Ian Attfield. In the early days they served homemade ice-cream on Saturday nights and obtained the cream from A. D. McLeod’s farm. Percy Tate was the first harness maker, who operated a harness shop in the building which was later used by Mrs. Lillian Kirbyson and then by Henry Zouveney for harness and shoe repairs. It was just torn down in the summer of 1967. Bill Ross had a livery barn on the lots where the Federal Grain dwelling now stands. Mr. Funk is the present Federal grain buyer and occupies this building. L. R. Davies built a livery barn in 1907. During this same year the Saskatchewan Elevator Company and the Maple Leaf Company built elevators. The Saskatchewan Elevator opened that fall with J. Hogg as buyer and the following year the Maple Leaf Elevator was opened with L. Davies as buyer.
Freeman Young built the hotel and opened for business in 1908. The Usbourne Municipal Office was located in this hotel for many years. The hotel was greatly improved by Cliff Robinson and was destroyed by fire on March 9th, 1951.
When the railway came through, the Post Office was then located in Magee’s Store for awhile until M. M. McLeod was appointed Postmaster in 1908 and built a small building on the corner of Saskatchewan and Main. For many years now a Ritz has been Postmaster at Lockwood, Louis Ritz, W. J. Ritz, and John L. Ritz.
Dr. Montgomery had his office in the building now used by the Attfields as a store and dwelling. William Turner was the first village blacksmith in the shop which Dave Meissner operated until recently. The shop is still standing but is used only privately by the Meissner Bros. W. McLeod also had a shop on the farm. Dave Krell kept a lunch counter and butcher shop in a building on the south side of Main Street. This was later used by William Ritz as a post office and burned down. The Northern Crown Bank opened a branch in the same building in 1909 with Frank Matheson as Manager.
Messrs. Burd & Russel opened the first garage in 1918. Messrs. Eldred & Hallgreen bought this business a few years later.
Joe Wallace was the first baby born in Lockwood.
Messrs. John Wallace and Ed Ritz were the first car owners in the district.
Mrs. Alec Ross was the first bride. Mr. & Mrs. Paul Smith (Mabel McCullough) were married in 1907 and celebrated their diamond wedding anniversary in the spring of 1967 at Nipawin.
Real Estate and Insurance was handled by Louis Ritz and Jack Goettler. Implement dealers during these early years were Bert and Claude Bell, Cole Davies and Mr. Wiens.Peggy Gardiner Cole, Regina
Photo 1 – Implement Shop Massey Harris and Moline owned and operated by Claude Bell 1913
Photo 2 – Saturday afternoon in winter, Lois Ritz and Kathleen Stephenson 1953
Photo 3 – Post Office burning in 1950
Photo 4 – Lockwood Hotel 1913
Photo 5 – Barber Shop 1913 Jack Russel, barber.
Photo 6 – Wheat Pool Elevator 1955
Photo 1 – Steam Threshing outfit owned by Dave and Bob Jones, about 1916
Photo 2 – Cutting wheat
Photo 3 – Oiling the harness for spring work
Photo 4 – A homemade rod-weeder. Sam Weir, on the Bob Plaster farm
Photo 5 – Early combine, Murray Ruedig operator
Photo 6 – Spring plowing
Photo 7 – Hauling the grain to town, John Ediger’s farm
Photo 8 – Winter transportation, Murray Ruedig
Photo 1 – 1st Usborne Council. STANDING: Mr. Rowe, Watrous; J. R. Funk, Drake; Mr. Van Luven, Guernsey; Mr. Hodges, Drake; Mr. Kusick, Lockwood. SITTING: W. Chandler, Lanigan; E.D. Gardiner, Lockwood; F. Gibney, Drake; John Armstrong, Thornfield.
Photo 2 – E. D. Gardiner, won the Senior service award for long service, as Rural Municipal Secretary-Treasurer. Appointed secretary Local Improvement District 16. R. E. in Sept. 1907. In 1910 became secretary for Usbourne lunicipality 310 – served 53 years. Also active on church board, school and village council.
Photo 3 – John Ediger, won Queen’s Coronation Medal for community work. Wheat Pool, 4-H, community hall, curling rink, Victory Loan drives; 33 years on Municipal Council as Reeve and Councillor. (Usbourne)
Photo: World War 1 Soldiers
BACK ROW: Corp. Davies, Claude Smith, Sandy Green, Charlie Plaster, Alex Day, Jimmy Abernethy
FRONT ROW: Harry Abernethy, George Turner, Bob Waldron, Fred Martin, –?.
1914-1918 First World War Veterans not on photograph – Frank Pomfret, Cliff Banks, Art Nadiger, A. Cope, Alec McKinnon, Sam Robson, Edgar Ellis, Garry Wood, Donald Wilson, W. J. Ritz, Tom Liddle, J. Noble, Harry Dewar, C. B. Smith, J. S. Martin, A. Driver, C. Martin, T. Pitt, A. M. Harding, Gordon Meikle, Pete Barber
Killed in action were J. Noble, Cpl. Davies
On August 4th, 1914 when war was declared, it came as a great shock. The people rallied together and gave their one hundred per cent effort to winning the fight.
A “Home Guard” was formed with Tom Pitt, veteran of the South African War and Corporal Davies as leaders. Old-timers speak with amusement about this now, of how they thundered down the Main Street of Lockwood, riding heavy plow horses and took running exercises to make themselves fit to defend their homes if it became necessary. This all came to an end when the leaders wanted the citizens to carry wooden guns. That was too much for their dignity.
Photo 1- Play, “Out in the Street”. SITTING: John Sweeney, Mary Updike, Beulah Stinchcomb, Edith Ritz, Frank McFarland. STANDING: Jim Gillis, Nels McRitchie, Cole Davies. Taken at Colonsay.
Photo 2- Mrs. B. Hummason’s music class
Photo 3- Sheila Langteigne’s bridal shower 1957
Photo 4- Preparing the lunch. Thelma Bryan, Lillian Buckmaster.
Photo 5- Gwen Plaster and Beverley Ruedig who presented the gifts.
Photo 6- Lockwood band, before 1922, Claude Bell, Bernice Bell, Paul Hyer, Frank and Charles Vonderloh.
Photo 7- W. J. White, Ball coach and umpire, drama director, and critic, official chairman and sponsor of all activities for youth
The dark days of the depression years is a subject which most older people do not care to discuss. How well some of us remember the dreadful dust storms that swept the fields for many days in succession.
In 1928 some crops were frozen, consequently the grades were cut and in 1929 the crash of the stock market seemed to set things on the down grade. Prices for farm products of all kinds reached an all time low. Dry weather set in and farm people tightened their belts, economized in every way that they could and always hoped that the next year would be better, but there was no change. Finally relief had to be given in the way of requisitions for food, fuel and seed. These were mostly inadequate. One year carloads of apples and clothing were shipped in from Ontario as a gift.
Some work was to be had building the P.F.R.A. pasture.
On account of the drought the gopher damage to crops was very great. Municipalities paid a bounty on gopher tails. This was a chance for the youngsters to make their spending money.
The Prairie Rose Municipality offered a shield and a medal to the school bringing in the greatest number of tails. These awards were won by the Haliburton School and are still kept in the district.
The young men tried riding freight trains to find work. Some were able to obtain work in parts of Eastern Canada and to others this ended in disaster. Many were glad to come back home. 1937 was the worst year of all. The same indomitable spirit which carried the pioneers through the first hard years served them well now too. Social events were carried on and the curling rink was built in 1936. Cars were laid up as there was no money for gas, repairs or license. The Bennet Buggy was the vehicle of the day. Some say that valuable lessons were learned from the “Dirty Thirties”. The coming of the Second World War in 1939 saw some improvement but it was a few years until farmers were on their feet again. Many families left the district because they could no longer carry on.
In the field of Federal Politics, Dr. D. B. Neely first held the seat as a Liberal. J. Fred Johnston sat as a Liberal Unionist. The Redistribution Bill of 1924 divided the constituency. It was then called Long Lake. The Progressives cast off Mr. Johnston and in 1926 W. R. Fansher, Progressive won the Federal seat. John G. Diefenbaker later won the seat when it was known as Lake Centre. Mr. Diefenbaker held the seat for two terms and was the only Saskatchewan Progressive during that time. In the Federal election of 1953 Ross Thatcher was elected as a representative of the C. C. F. in April 1955.Since then Ernest Pascoe, Progressive-Conservative has been the representative and the constituency was enlarged and was known as Moose Jaw Lake Centre until the latest distribution. Lockwood is now in the constituency of Regina-Lake Centre.
Lockwood has been in the Provincial Constituency of Last Mountain since 1908 and the following are the representatives and the parties they represented.
1908 – T. A. Anderson, Provincial Rights
1912, 1917, 1921, 1926 – S.J. Latta, Liberal
1929 – J. Benson, Progressive
1934 – G. H. Hummel, Liberal
1938, 1944, 1948 – J. Benson, C.C.F.
1952 – Russ Brown, C.C.F.
1956, 1960, 1964 – Russ Brown, C.C.F.
1964, 1967 – Don MacLennan, Liberal
World War II
Photo 1 – J. A. Birtles and war bride, England 1945
Photo 2 – Margaret Bell, R.C.A.F. 1944 Rockcliff, Ottawa
Photo 3 – Florence Mitchell, Sick Berth Attendant, H.M.C.S. Cornwallis, Nova Scotia, 1944
Photo 4 – Verna Pomfret, 1944 Nursing sister, Debert
Photo 5 – C.W.A.C. Grace Plaster, Devon, England 1945
Anderson , Gordon Baker, Cyril Becker, David Becker, Alexander Bell, Margaret Birtles, Joseph Birtles, George Birtles, Cecil Blackport, Allan Blackport, John Bryan, Gerald Bryan, Orville Bryan, Harold Bryan, Bruce Buckmaster, Clifford Chaplin, Frank Chaplin, Arthur Chaplin, Wilfred Coleman, Ralph Coleman, Richard Coleman, Albert Coleman, Wilfred Coleman, Howard Edwards, Paul Edwards, Phillip Edwards, Raymond Eldred, Lowell Ellis, Ernest Ellis, Maxwell Ewen, Gordon Fischer, Walter Forner, George Fraser, Jack Gardiner, Robert Gegner, Hermann Gegner, Lawrence Gegner, Morris Genge, Ronald Gliddon, Donald Graff, Lamarr Haug, Ernest Hislop, Thomas Hurley, Harry Janzen, Jacob Joa, Norbert Joa, Raymond Kabernick, Edward Kabernick, Walter Kane, Daniel Kane, Francis Krell, Peter Lueck, Peter Lynch, Donald Magnes, Clifford Magnes, Gordon Magnes, Harold Magnes, Lloyd Magnes, Morris Meikle, Bruce Meikle, George Meissner, Edward Meissner, Victor Meldrum, James Mitchel, Florence McKinnon, Alexander McKinnon, Donald McKinnon, John McLelland, Melvin Nadiger, Walter Neubauer, Ward Neubauer, Harris Nornberg, Wilfred Norton, John Pinkerton, Donald Pinkerton, Gerald Plaster, Ernest Plaster, Grace Plaster, Robert Pomfret, Donald Pomfret, Verna Pratt, Arnold Ritz, Louis Ritz, Perry Reudig, William Saylor, Delmar Schalin, Edmund Schmunk, Emmanuel Shearer, Robert Siegfried, Martin Turner, Ernest Wentz, Thomas Wentz, Devon Wentz, Clarence Wood, Carry Wood, Harold Wood, Milton Uhrich, August McMillan, John
Killed in action
Photo – P/O Harold J. Magnes – F/O Gerald Bryan – Sgt. Walter W. Hughes
Photo 1 – Young People’s Union – 1949 or so. TOP: Marylin Ellis, Max Stephenson, Vernell Fischer, Dave Pinkerton, June Fischer, Hilton Hughes. FRONT: Owen Pederson, Barclay Jones, June Barber, Iris Pederson, George Amer.
Photo 2 – United Church with Manse and Gardiner’s home in the background.
Photo 3 – U.C.W. “Farewell”, Mrs. Gardiner receives her Life Membership pin, 1963.
Photo 4 – Sunday School Picnic and Service at Punnichy in 1947. STANDING: Mrs. R. Stephenson, Levi Pederson, Allan Pederson. SITTING BACK: Mr. R. Stephenson, Mrs. M. Ritz, Mrs. W.E. Hughes. FRONT: Mrs. L. Pederson, Vern Fischer, Merner Ritz, Mr. W.E. Hughes, Shirley Fischer, Kathleen Stephenson.
Photo 5 – Mrs. L. A. Hummason receives Life Membership in U.C.W., 1967 and Mrs. R.H. Plaster puts on the pin.
Photo 6 – Hi. C. Group Leader: Mrs. Isobel Meyer, 1957. BACK: Ronald Pederson, Garry Vogt, Larry Kane, Ronald Morningstar. FRONT: Joan Kane, Elaine Armstrong.
Worship services were first conducted here in early 1907 by Rev. John McLeod, son of Mr. and Mrs. A. D. McLeod, Presbyterian minister and a first cousin of Mrs. E.D. Gardiner. Rev. McLeod received his theological training in Winnipeg, Manitoba. In the fall of 1907 when he left Lockwood he presented a farewell address on September 30th, 1907, using for his text, 2nd Timonthy, 4th Chapter, Verse 2 – “Preach the word; be instant in season; out of season; reprove; rebuke, exhort with long suffering and doctrine. ”
While at Lockwood Rev. McLeod held the worship services in the upstairs portion of the E. S. Cressman general store and above Ritz and Coblentz hardware. The congregation sat on nail kegs or boxes or anything that could be obtained. During the summer of 1907, Rev. J. McLeod conducted services in a newly constructed country church located in the southeast corner of the SE 12-32-22-W2nd. Mr. R. T. Stephenson, now a member of Lockwood United Church assisted in the building of this church during the years 1906 and 1907. This small building was used for worship by the people of both Lockwood and Drake and became a schoolhouse and presently serves as a local telephone office.
The Lockwood area was then in Abernathy Presbytery and the Presbytery provided ministers and students during 1908. Amongst them were Mr. Riddel, Mr. Burgoine, Mr. Renwicks, Mr. Riley and Mr. Hunter. Mr. Hunter preached his first sermon here on October 10th, 1908. The ministers would come from Saskatoon on the train for the weekend and usually stayed at the Gardiner home where they were always welcome. 1909 saw Mr. Hunter still preaching at Lockwood; this time the services were held over McGee’s general store used as a hall for various gatherings and a piano was used. In 1910 Rev. Dewey, a Presbyterian minister from Ireland, also a Mr. Jack conducted services here and in Nokomis
In 1911 the present church building was erected by the Presbyterian congregation. Later it was also used by the Methodist congregation in the area. A great deal of effort had to be put forth to erect this building with many hours and days spent by different people going through the area collecting money and promises of help for the building project and minister’s salary. Most of the travelling was done by horse and buggy and on horseback. Most of the work was done by volunteer labor, although Ed. Armstrong was the head carpenter. The organ for the church was purchased from Mrs. M. McLeod (a local resident). The two Gillis brothers (brothers of Mrs. E. D. Gardiner) laid the carpet in the choir loft, which is still being used today.
Opening and anniversary services were conducted by Rev. Dr. P. Bryce of Winnipeg, Dr. Young of Saskatoon, Dr. P. Strange of Regina and a Dr. Endicott. Mrs. Percy Tate (now Mrs. Norton) was the first organist and the church was filled to capacity with a full Choir. Some of the members of the choir that day were, Mr. (Red) Bill Brown, Miss Law and Mrs. Tom Pitt (sisters), Percy Tate, Mrs. Gardiner, Mrs. Helen Morningstar and others. Mr. D.B. Musselman, although a Methodist rendered very fine solos. Mr. and Mrs. Musselman took great interest in the church in and around the Floradale area.
Mr. E. S. Cressman became the first secretary of the church board and the original elders were Mr. A. D. McLeod, Mr. S.B. Hislop, Mr. Chas. McLeod, Mr. E. D. Gardiner and Mr. E.S. Cressman. The first student minister to serve the new church was a Mr. Peter Spence, a new arrival from England. He was followed by an ordained minister, Rev. T. C. Frampton who was a widower and stayed several years from 1912-1914, living in the church manse. The pioneer members still attending church here are Mr. L. A. Hummason, Mrs. Helen Morningstar, Mr. and Mrs. E. D. Gardiner. This was written for the 55th anniversary on November 4th, 1962. Today, 1967, the only early member attending church here is L. A. Hummason.
During the years following the outbreak of World War I, several ministers served this area, one of whom was Dr. H. A. McLeod, who later became moderator of the United Church of Canada, 1960-62. The Lockwood Field of worship also included Boulder Lake SD., Haliburton SD., Howat SD., Floradale SD., Thornfield SD., and later Kneller SD., with the minister having to alternate the Sundays, often holding three services on a Sunday. A Rev. North served the church in 1918 and lived in the dwelling now occupied by the present School principal in Lockwood. From 1918 to 1925 a various number of student ministers served this area during the summer months
1925 saw the union of the Presbyterian and Methodist congregations into the present United Church. Very few facts are obtainable as to which minister served the United Lockwood Church from the time of union to 1941, due to the fact that all church records were destroyed in the fire which burned Cressman’s general store in the spring of 1935. After this disaster Mr; Cressman left the district and Mr. E.D. Gardiner assumed the duties as Secretary of the Church Board and in March, 1951 another fire, which destroyed the local hotel and cafe, also burned the church records which Mr. Gardiner kept in his office in a room in the hotel. Mr. Gardiner however, continued on as Secretary until 1961. The present secretary is Gerald Zealand, who is also principal of Lockwood School.
It is known however, that among the many ministers and students were two young ladies, Miss Elspeth Curran now Mrs. Doug Walker, Calgary and Miss Ann Cline, now Mrs. Bouey of Moose Jaw, Sask. , also Vie Sangwine (now Rev. Sangwine) whom has since married a young lady of the Lockwood district, Miss Jean Hummason.
Rev. Sangwine was invited by the present church board to be guest speaker at our 55th Anniversary on November 4th, 1962. Since 1941 the Lockwood pulpit has been served regularly by ordained ministers from the Nokomis Pastoral charge and the Lockwood congregation assists Nokomis in paying the minister’s salary and travelling expenses. The following ministers have served the area well during the period 1941 to 1967 inclusive. Rev. Hardwick, Rev. Hargraves, Rev. Mills, Rev. Jardin, Rev. Young and presently Rev. R.W. Swann. Of these ministers we should perhaps single out Rev. Mills for his outstanding musical ability, which was used outside of the church with some advantage to the community itself. He was instrumental in training quite a number of young people in the use of musical instruments and at one time had quite a good small band. Also Rev. Swann for his untiring efforts in all phases of community work and Hi. C. Groups
Of the various fire losses in the area one may have had outstanding effect on the work of the church, this was the burning of the mortgage which took place in the fall of 1944 with Mrs. Helen Morningstar, Mrs. Emma Magnes, Mrs. W. Mitchel and Mrs. L. A. Hummason assisting Rev. Hardwick at the ceremony
A new electronic organ was placed in the church with a commemorative plaque inscribed with names of pioneers by the L. A. in 1954. This was dedicated by Rev. J. H. Young with Rev. Brown of Watrous as guest speaker.
A memorial fund has recently been established by the present church board and a memorial book, which contains the names of many pioneers in this area, is kept in the church.
Present Church Board, 1967 – Members of Session, Mrs. Verna Morningstar, Mrs. Grace Hughes, R. H. Plaster, Mrs. Margaret Stephenson. Board of Stewards – Don Lynch, Ed. Kabernick, Allan Jones, Gerald Zealand, Leo Kane and Ross Morningstar. Trustees – R.T. Stephenson. Clark of Session – R. H. Plaster
United Church Women’s Organization
It is thought that a group called the “Ladies Aid” existed in the early days of the church because old-timers tell of fowl suppers being held in the church basement. The Usbourne Homemakers purchased kitchen utensils from this ladies’ group as their records show.
Later in the years from 1939 on, the church needed many things. The women therefore formed a group to help out
The Ladies’ Aid raised money and added many improvements to the church such as painting the exterior, linoleum, new steps, painting the interior, new lights, pulpit chair and pews, communion service, oil burner and furnace.
In 1958 the Ladies’ Aid became the W. A. and was affiliated with the United Church Presbyterial in Saskatoon. Mrs. E.D. Gardiner was the last Ladies’ Aid President and Mrs. W. Pederson was the first W. A. President.
The last meeting of the W. A. was held at the.home of Mrs. Stephenson on December 14th, 1916. In February, 1962 the United Church Women came into being with Mrs. Stephenson as the first President and Mrs. W. Meyer was Secretary-Treasurer. The new emphasis of the U. C. W. is on women’s full participation in the church. It necessitated more study and less fund raising.
Charter members are Mesdames H. Hughes, W. E. Hughes, A. Forner, R. Plaster, E. Kabernick, A. Jones, L. Kane, W. Meyer, L. Hummason and R. Stephenson and E. Gardiner.R.H. Plaster
Photo 1 – Centennial Parade
Photo 2 – Helen Hummason wedding 1952
Photo 1: St. Michaels and All Angels Church
Photo 2:Women’s Auxiliary at the home of Mrs. Norton, 1943 or so. Mrs. M. Hurley, Mrs. Munda Smith, Joe Wallace, Mrs. A. Norton, Mrs. Annie Wallace, Elaine Hobman, Mrs. G. Hobman. FRONT: Lois Smith, Clayton Hobman.
In the early years before the Anglican Church was built, services were held in the Presbyterian Church and in the hall, above Sweeney and McRitchie’s store, and also in the homes of Mr. and Mrs. J. Wallace and Mr. and Mrs. Claude Bell
The first church was built in 1915 and it is believed that Ken Sutherland was the head carpenter. Len Turner, Dick Stephenson and Jack Wallace mixed the cement and poured the foundation on two very hot days, the 29th and 30th of June, 1915. Members of the early congregation included Mr. and Mrs. J. Wallace, Mr. and Mrs. George Turner, Mr. and Mrs. W. Smith, Mr. and Mrs. Claude Bell, Mr. and Mrs. Albert Coleman, Mr. and Mrs. Ken Sutherland, Mr. and Mrs. Len Turner, Mr. and Mrs. J. Thompson, Mr. and Mrs. Maurice Hurley, Mr. and Mrs. J. Genge, and Mr. and Mrs. Hugh Strong. The first Vicar’s Warden was J. Wallace and Albert Coleman was People’s Warden. Later Wardens were George Turner, W. Smith, W. Dodsworth, K. Sutherland, Maurice Hurley, Merner Ritz, Glen Hobman.
In October, 1920, the church was struck by lightning and burnt to the ground. It was rebuilt the following year. Mrs. Len Turner was organist in the early days, followed by Mrs. Norton for some considerable time, then Mrs. Janet Ford followed by Mrs. George Hummason in later years.
The Anglican Women’s Auxiliary was organized in 1918 and Mrs. J. Wallace was the first President and Mrs. Claude Bell the first Secretary. Other early members were Mrs. Len Turner, Mrs. A. Coleman, Mrs. J. Genge, Mrs. G. Turner, Mrs. W. Smith, Mrs. M. Hurley, Mrs. W. Dodsworth, Mrs. A. Norton, Mrs. J. Hallam, Mrs. Morfitt. The meetings were held in the homes but chiefly at Mrs. Wallace’s.
Down through the years the W. A. served the church well and many improvements were added. In later years Mrs. R. Pinkerton, Mrs. G. Hobman, Mrs. M. Ritz and Mrs. G. Hummason also became active members. Mrs. Merner Ritz was Diocesan President for one year.
In 1954 Mrs. Maurice Hurley was made a Life Member of the W. A.
Annual picnics were held in early years at Pitt’s bluff and later at Manitou Beach. Another highlight used to be the Christmas Party held at the Maurice Hurley’s farm home where young and old alike enjoyed the sleigh ride to the country, the games and Christmas Tree Treats. During the 1930’s the Sunday School was quite large and a number of United Church children attended due to the fact there was not a resident minister at that time.
The Sunday School was an active part of the Anglican Church through the years with Mrs. J. Wallace and Mrs. M. Hurley as teachers and later, Mrs. Merner Ritz.
As the Parish became larger the congregation smaller, the Lockwood Church was closed and the members of the congregation attended Christ Church in Nokomis. In 1965 the church was sold and moved to Nokomis to serve the Lutheran congregation as a place of worship.Gwen (Hurley) Sutherland
Photo 1: Baptist Church
Photo 2: Mr. and Mrs. Lipperts and Family.
Photo 3: Margaret Krell, Mrs. R. Ediger, Mrs. W. Schroeder, Mrs. M. Meyer, Ida Krell, Mrs. J. Schalin. SEATED: Mr. J. Schalin.
Photo 4: Dorothy Krell – 12 years as a missionary in Nigeria.
The congregation was organized in the summer of 1917 under Rev. Bladow, resident minister of Nokomis with twenty-one members. Peter Krell acted as Deacon and Fred Krell as Secretary-Treasurer. Members were Mr. and Mrs. Dave Krell, Mr. and Mrs. Peter Krell, Mr. and Mrs. Fred Krell, Mr. and Mrs. Fred Kuxhaus, Mrs. Katherine Stuchert and Katie, Mr. and Mrs. W. Weiss, Mr. and Mrs. Rheinold Jeschke, Julius Kriese, Mr. and Mrs. P. Riach, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Herr Sr. , Mr. Wurtz.
Services were held in the homes of the members until the spring of 1919. The village of Lockwood gave the church two lots and a building was erected. The first resident minister was J. G. Lippert, a student minister. At one time a flourishing Ladies’ Aid raised money for furnishings for the basement kitchen by means of fowl suppers and programmes. When it was discontinued the dishes and other utensils were sold to the Usbourne Homemakers for use in the Community Hall.
Some years ago services were discontinued in Lockwood and the church was sold to Joe Dzurich (C.P.R. Joe) in Nokomis and was turned into a dwelling.
Miss Dorothy Krell, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Dave Krell served 12 years in Nigeria, Africa as a missionary.
The only one of the original members still living in the Lockwood district is Mrs. Henry Herr Sr.Fred Siegfried
German Lutheran Church
Photo: BACK ROW: Alex Meissner Sr., Mrs. Alex Meissner, John Ebel, Mr. & Mrs. Jake Meissner, Mrs. John Fred Meissner, Alex Meissner Jr. , Mr. John Fred Meissner. FRONT ROW: Bertha Meissner, Mary Meissner, Mrs. Katie Ebel, Children.
The German Lutheran Church in the Lockwood area was established in 1913 with Rev. Lassen of Strasbourg as minister. He came to Lockwood once a month in the early days. The services were held in the homes of Dave Meissner, Alex Meissner, George Schwab and Mrs. Katie Fischer. Later the ministers came from Lipton on the 10 o’clock train on Saturday, held services on Sunday and went back on Monday. Mr. John Fred Meissner, grandfather of Alex and Ed Meissner met them at the train with a team of oxen and a stoneboat. Later he used an ox and a buggy, then graduated to a horse and buggy. He entertained them in his home for the weekend. In the early twenties the services were held once a week in the Presbyterian Church which was rented. This arrangement was continued until 1963 when the Lockwood congregation was discontinued and the members worshipped at Jansen, Lanigan and Nokomis.
Since then the Nokomis Lutheran congregation purchased the Anglican Church building at Lockwood and moved it to Nokomis. Many Lockwood Lutherans worship there now and Edward Meissner and Bert and Freda Meissner officiate on the church board.Alex Meissner
Roman Catholic Church
The hope of the early settlers of having their own church building in Lockwood was never realized.
In the early years, Mass was offered by Father J. C. Sinnett, the founder of the Irish Colony north of Lanigan. He held services during those early years until he went back to Eastern Canada in 1922.
Mass was first held in the old hall over the corner store, then in the home of Mr. & Mrs. Sam Broman, until they left Lockwood. After that the old school was used until it was sold and moved to the Kansas School District west of Drake. The little white school, which is now the home of Mrs. Maurice Hurley was used for a short period.
Later when Mr. and Mrs. James Schinner owned the Lockwood Hotel (during the prohibition days) the front rooms of the hotel were used as the Municipal Office and Council Chambers, and services were held in the Council Chambers. By this time Father Sinnett’s successors, first Father Corcoran and then Father McMillian of Sinnett read Mass there. Later Mass was also offered by Priests from Govan in the present community hall.
In the Twenties a very successful sports day was held in Lockwood by the Roman Catholics to raise money to build a church. However with the changing population the Roman Catholics were getting fewer. Roads were improving as were means of transportation and members drove to Nokomis, Sinnett or Watrous and the dreams of a church in Lockwood were abandoned. The money which had been raised was given to the Bishop to be used for other purposes.Mrs. Sarah Joa
Church of the Nazarene
Photo – Church of the Nazarene
In 1931 or 1932 Rev. H. Kyer held services in Lerner’s Hall (above the store). Special services were held in a tent where Mr. and Mrs. Wilson now live and also out in the Haliburton District. In 1932 the congregation first rented and then bought a building which was known as the Wallace Lumberyard from Ernest McClelland.
Charter members were Mr.. and Mrs. H. S. Stinson, Mr. and Mrs. Mack Cummings, Misses Viola Mathias, Mary Siegfried, Susan Harder, August Siegfried, Henry Linder and Mr. and Mrs. Kirk. In 1935 Miss Gertrude Bommer joined the church. Rev. Dick was the District Superintendent and Rev. H.V. Kyer the Pastor. Mr. and Mrs. Bommer, Mr. and Mrs. Oscar Reedy, Mrs. Oscar Magnes, Mrs. Ed. Magnes were regular attendants.
In 1945 and 1946 Rev. Chris. Cornish renovated the building. Much volunteer work was done by both men and women and pews were built. Living quarters were made suitable in the east end of the building. The Lockwood Church of the Nazarene as such, was organized in 1933. An active Women’s Foreign Missionary Society and a Sunday School were auxiliaries of the Church.
Other pastors included Rev. M. Varro, Mr. Airhart, Rev. G. A. Raine, Rev. A. S. Fee, Rev. C. McElheran, Dr. W. N. King, Rev. E.V. Cornish, Rev. G. Mitchell, Miss A. Robe, Rev. M. Karachun, Rev. A. Wiens, Rev. G. Cole, and Rev. I. Reaman.
The church was closed in 1960.
Lockwood Hospital Auxiliary was organized in 1948 to help out with the furnishing of Nokomis Hospital. The first president was Mrs. R. Smith and Mrs. Merner Ritz was secretary-treasurer. Mrs. Smith served for one year and Mrs. A. Forner carried on for the remaining years. The most important work was the furnishing of the Lockwood Room in Nokomis Hospital. The Lockwood people also provided a wheelchair for the hospital.
Lockwood School – The red brick school
Photo 1 – Old School Bell – Jean Norton, Bessie Chaplin, Marjorie Magnes, Margaret Kane, Minnie Meikle, Peggy Gardiner, Fern Hummason, Bob Mitchel, Bob Urquhart, Kenny Urquhart.
Photo 2 – High School Class in little white school. FRONT: Lowell Eldred, Innis Ivy, Bessie Bell, Alma Norton, Mary Bell, Don McKinnon. BACK: Fred Hummason, Willie Neufelt, Mr. Heffelfinger (teacher), Norma Ellis, Jean Hummason.
Photo 3 – Last class in little school Grades 1-4, 1952-53. Teacher-Mrs. Isobel Meyer. BACK: Muriel Turner, Arthur Assman, Elaine Hobman, Leonard Assman, Allister Turner, Margaret Morningstar, Dorothy Hamm. MIDDLE: Rita Hamm, Donald Howat, Allan Pederson, Frances Wiebe, Phyllis Armstrong, Reg Plaster. FRONT: Ricky Brunsdon, Ron Ediger, Joe Armstrong, Karen Meikle, Elaine Plaster
Photo 4 – Little white school ready to be moved downtown for a dwelling for Mr. and Mrs. E. Oblander, later moved to the Hurley farm.
Photo 5 – Teacher Miss Blanche Story. First yellow school, later moved to Kansas S. D. BACK: Waldin Ewert, John Schwab, Tom Hislop. MIDDLE: David Becker, Alec Meissner, Joseph Wallace. FRONT: Amy Wallace, Ida Cressman, Mary Hislop, George Sweeney. Lockwood School 1950
Photo 6 – Lockwood School 1950 – Teachers – Neil Roberts (principal), Ruth Hamm (room 2), Jean Rudy (room 3). TOP: Barclay Jones, Rheinold Meissner. SECOND: George Amer, June Barber, Donald Reimer, Vernell Fischer, Marilyn Ellis. THIRD: Jerry Joa, Leonard Joa, Owen Pederson, Doreen Howat. FOURTH: Clayton Hobman, Edward Fischer, Ken Magnes, Harvey Forner, Shirley Fischer, Rosemary Pratt. FIFTH: Carry Reimer, Ian Mularkey, Terry Clark, Don Herr, Vern Fischer, Elsie Meissner. SIXTH: Ron Pederson, Victor Hamm, Boris Wasylinki, Ruth Krell, Vivien Assman, Ida Assman, Kathy Hamm. SEVENTH: Eddy Ritz, Waldin Schmidt. EIGHTH: Doyle Armstrong, Clarence Fischer, Darlene Eichorst, Faye Robinson, Loreen Uhrich, Betty Nelson, Kathleen Stephenson, Carol Bryan, Edgar Hamm, David Hobman, Reimer, Doreen Ediger. Denna Nelson, Sharon Ellison, Lois Ritz, Dennis Hobman, Len Assman. NINTH: ArtAssman, Leona Reimer, Sylvia Uhrich, Elaine Armstrong, Kathy Hamm, Margaret and Larry Morningstar. TENTH: Sharon Lawrence.
Photo 1 – New Lockwood School built 1853 (1967 showing bus)
Photo 2 – High School Girls, 1948. Lilly Rucks, Dorothy Nadiger, Marylin Ellis, Vernell Fischer, June Barber, June Fischer. FRONT: Iris Pederson.
Photo 3 – Kathleen Stephenson, Bryant Provincial Oratory.
Photo 4 – Joan Kane, Bryant Provincial Oratory.
Photo 5 – BACK: Inez McKinnon, Ida Krell, Freda Meissner, Margaret Hall am. MIDDLE: Helen Hummason, June Fischer, Irene Meissner, Esther Meissner, Margaret Schwab, Ruth Lerner, Irma McKinnon. FRONT: Vernell Fischer, Esther Krell, Blanche Hummason, June Barber. Teacher – Miss Whittle 1939.
Photo 6 – Graduating Class, Mothers and Teacher, 1956. BACK: Clayton Hobman, Mrs. G. Hobman, Alec Youck (Teacher), Kathleen Stephenson, Mrs. R. T. Stephenson. MIDDLE: Mrs. G. Wood, Mrs. D. Patzer, Mrs. W. J. Birtles, Mrs. W. Turner. FRONT: Eleanor Wood, Ida Patzer, Margaret Birtles, Doreen Turner.
Lockwood School District No. 2097
Classes in Lockwood were first held in Magee’s Hall in the fall of 1907. Joe Nadiger remembers going to school there and how uncomfortable the pupils were with only a coal oil stove for heat. Miss Margaret Cumming was the teacher.
Classes were also held in the homes. The Lockwood School District was organized in 1908 with R. L. Stinchcomb as chairman; Claude Bell, Secretary-Treasurer and Louis Ritz, Trustee. Debentures were issued for $2, 000. Jack Goettler was the first teacher to teach in the school. When the enrollment increased., classes were also held in the Lockwood Hotel in a room that had been the bar-room before prohibition days. While another school was built, Miss Mould, now Mrs. C. W. Halstead of Nokomis tells of teaching younger children up to Grade III there. Mrs. Halstead has the agreement she signed on August 20th, 1917 with D. C. Bell as Chairman, W. J. Ritz as witness. Her salary was $780. 00.
In 1919-1920 a handsome two room red brick school was constructed. The first yellow school was sold to the Kansas Mennonite church and moved to their property there. The little white one was used as a high school and later as a primary room.
Mr. E. D. Gardiner served as Secretary-Treasurer for many years and School Trustees of long standing included – Ray Eldred, John Blackport, Maurice Hurley, Milton Phillips, , E. S. Cressman, W. A. Mason, S. H. Amer, Mrs. Gardiner served for awhile as the only woman trustee to serve on the board. Present board is Ed Meissner, Ian Attfield and Hilton Hughes.
In 1945 the Lockwood School District became a part of the Lanigan Larger District No. 40 and Alfred Anderson of Lockwood was the first Chairman. June 1953, a fully modern 4 roomed school was built. Classes were held in the Community Hall while the school was being finished. The official opening was held in the autumn of 1953 with Mr. Hamm, Trustee and Mr. Henry Jantzen from the Department of Education officiating. The teachers and pupils co-operated in painting the desks in bright colors and the Home and School Organization planned a reception for parents and visitors. Staff then was Mr. Alec Youck, Principal, Orren Bartel, Bernice Young and Isobel Conley.
High School classes are no longer held in Lockwood and a bus takes the students to Lanigan Central High School. School buses collect children from the surrounding districts for a radius of about ten miles to attend primary and elementary classes at Lockwood. One room was closed in 1966 due to lowered enrollment. Present teachers are Gerald Zealand, Principal, Miss Marlene Butterfield, Intermediate and Miss Agnes Holba, Primary.
Students of Lockwood High School distinguished themselves. Besides many competent teachers, nurses and business people, University degrees are held by Barclay Jones, Ph. D. in Nuclear Engineering; Edmund Schalin, Ph.D. in Agriculture; Larry Kane, B.S.A.; George Hummason, B.S.A. ; Fred Hummason, B.S.E. ; Forrest Pederson, B.S.P. ; Dalwyn Barber, B.S.C. ; Ronald Pederson, B.A. ; B.Ed. ; Doreen (Howat) Riach, B.Ed. ; Richard Stephenson, B.A. , B.Ed.; Victor Hamm, B.Ed.; Frances (Hummason) Schoen, B.A. ; Amy Wallace, M.A. ; Deanna Nelson, B.S.N. ; Fern (Hummason) McDougall, B.S.N. ; Ernest Plaster, M.D. ; Rhinehart Schaline is a Baptist minister serving in the United States. Waldin Ewert represented the Canadian Department of Agriculture in Europe. Jean (Hummason) Sangwine B.A. , A.T.C.M. , L.M.U.S., is also a writer of short stories and articles. Canadian Girl, Family Herald, Winnipeg Free Press, Chatelaine and other magazines have carried her stories. She was also a morning commentator on C.B.C. radio from Winnipeg and on the program “Points West”. Garry Vogt received his B.S. and B. Ace. degrees and Irving Lerner became an actor on C.B.C. radio from Toronto.
Photo: Peggy Gardiner Salvaging P. O. Sign after fire,
Photo 1 – Will Plaster, Victoria (Plaster) Decker, Morley Decker, F/O Ernest Plaster, and Bride, Mrs. Lillian Kirbyson (former owner and operator of harness shop at Lockwood. Ernest Plaster now M. D.
Photo 2 -Barclay George Jones, Ph. D. Nuclear Engineering Winner of Athlone Scholarship (3 years to study in England) Now Associate Professor at University of Illinois
Photo 3 – Jean (Hummason) Sangwine, B.A., A.T.C.M., L.M.U.S., Writer and Radio Commentator.
Photo 1 – Alkali Savages (Haliburton) Hockey Team 1946-47 FRONT ROW, Left to Right: Bill Ellis, Sailor Koshinsky, Harold Wood, Jim Ewen. BACK ROW: Slim Wood, Coach; Bill Robson, Howard Coleman, Pat O’Neil, Sandy Wood, Tex Robson, Jack Lynch
Haliburton School District No. 1923
Some of our earliest settlers arrived in this district as early as 1905 and most of the homesteads were filed on by 1907.
Our homesteaders were Mr. and Mrs. Heber Robson, Bob Stinson, Robert Graham, Mr. and Mrs. George Gliddon, Daniel Jones, Mr. Easton, Mr. and Mrs. John Clarey, Mr. and Mrs. John Bell, Jim and Bill Anderson, Mr. and Mrs. William Turner, Alf Bidolph, Mr. and Mrs. John Nadiger, Mr. and Mrs. William Smalley, Jim Hogan, Mrs. Jessie Morrison, Mr. and Mrs. McQuaig, Mr. Clarence Wilson, Mr. Bruce Annis, Mr. S. R. Bice, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Bice, Donnie Graham and his mother, Mrs. Elizabeth Graham, Mr. and Mrs. Tom Chevins, Mr. Oscar Larer, Mr. Harry Larer, Douglas (Bill) Rusnell, Mr. and Mrs. Joe Anderson, W. Birtles, Tom Pinkerton, Jim Dixon, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Hobman, Mr. Bill Hobman, Bill Brodey, Mr. Bigblow, Hugh Bell, Jack Nadiger, Tom Clarey all of whom took homesteads.
Mr. and Mrs. Heber Robson had the Depew P.O. at their house for a number of years, first bringing the mail from Lockwood and later from Jansen. Mr. Robson named the P.O. in honor of his daughter Defew. The “f” got changed to a “p” by the post office official.
Mr. Gliddon and Mrs. Robson’s mother was the first death I recall in this district. She made her home with Mr. Gliddon and was buried on his homestead. Later the remains were moved to the Lockwood cemetery.
Haliburton’s first School Board was elected in November, 1907. William Turner elected Chairman, Daniel Jones, Trustee and William Smalley, Secretary-Treasurer.
The district got its name after Haliburton, Ontario, where Mr. and Mrs. Robson came from. The contract for building the school was given to Mr. S. R. Bice and was built in 1909 of concrete blocks. The school opened in October, 1909 with Miss K. E. Drysdale as teacher. She just taught until Christmas. The following year, Miss Bessie Abel from Tantallon taught. Our first Christmas Tree and Concert was held that year and Miss Margaret Cumming, teaching at Richfarms School brought her pupils to Haliburton and they had a joint concert.
Photo 2 – The Halibruton School Hockey Team 1950. Jack Robson, Florence Wood, Connie Nadiger, Bess Robson, Dale Robson, Ellie Wood.
Photo 3 – 1947. Florence Wood, Connie Nadiger, Bess Robson, Darlene Eichorst, Eleanor Wood.
Photo 1 – Haliburton Sunday School Class 1955: BOTTOM ROW, Left to Right: Reg Wentz, Larry Wentz, Jim Barron, Anne Barren, Shirley Coleman, Bob Lynch, Maxine Turner, Joanne Doidge, Connie Jones, Gordon Turner. SECOND ROW: Ronnie Robson, Doug Gammie, Verne Coleman, Diane Turner, Bob Turner, Brian Lynch, Wally Kihn, Jim Coleman. THIRD ROW: Wayne Robson, Lome Jones, Gwen Kihn, Carol Coleman, Muriel Turner. BACK ROW: Mrs. Dorothy Pomfret, Junior Class Teacher; Eleanor Wood, Connie Nadiger, Bess Robson, Jack Robson, Allister Turner, Mrs. Mary Robson, Senior Class Teacher
Photo 2 – The Ewen Family 1939. Father, Mother, Margaret, Annie, Gordon, Jim, Vi, Jean, Bessie, Isabel, Jack, Verna, Donald
Photo 3 – (Hockey) D. Ewen, L. Koshinshy, H. Nadiger, J. Ewen, J. Lynch, W. Robson, P. O’Neil, B. Abell, W. Coleman, M. Wood, S. Wood, H. Wood, I. Ewen, B. Nixdof, E. Nerenberg, R. Ewen, J. Ewen, A. Eichorst, T. Robson, H. Wood, K. Wood, J. Eichorst, J. Robson, B. Ewen, V. Robson, E. Wood, B. Robson, M. Robson, V. Ewen.
Photo 4 – (Hockey) Sunday afternoon: Ralph Coleman, Don Pomfret, Richard Coleman, Jim Ewen, Bill Krieger, Warren Robson, Bert Coleman, Harold Wood, Sandy Wood, Howard Coleman
Photo 5 – (Hockey) Tex and Bill Robson, Depew post office in background
For our first picnic, Mr. Amos Smalley took a wagon load of Haliburton children to Richfarms Picnic. The lunch was served on long tables and we all had a wonderful time together.
Our school was used for Sunday School, Mr. Robert Graham who homesteaded two and a half miles north of the school was our first Superintendent. He was also our first Municipal Secretary-Treasurer for the Prairie Rose #309 Municipality. The church services were held in the schoolhouse quite a few summers, generally every other Sunday. The minister sometimes came from Drake and other times from Lockwood.
We held social evenings in the schoolhouse, the ladies bringing lunch and the local boys supplying violin and mouth organ music. Cards, games and dancing were enjoyed and no charge was made. Quite often there were dances held when Mr. Ernie Ellis or Mac Cumming supplied the music.Written by Arthur Nadiger
Haliburton Hi-Lights of Past Years
Entertainment in the Haliburton District as in every other, was self-made. Parties and dances in local schoolhouses and homes characterized the homesteading days; Valens Lake was the favorite spot for swimming and picnics.
Many were the dances held in the old Haliburton School; with their own local orchestra – Bill, Tex, Clarence, Emma and Jess Robson. Brother Ed was organizer and for many years Mr. Ernest Wentz was floor manager and called square dances. Ed Robson and his wife Jean both played guitars and sang providing entertainment at lunch time; another who always contributed was the late John Bamford with his solos.
When the E. Wentz family came in 1924, they started the custom of Open House on Christmas Eve. Everyone brought lunch and those who could play, provided music and a fine time was had by all. In the “dirty thirties” when money was non-existent, house parties were held at different homes every few weeks. Young and old from other districts as well as our own turned out and a good time was enjoyed. Box or Pie Socials were the thing in the fall when everyone turned out to help raise money for the school concerts.
Skating came to the fore in 1921 when Miss Stella Mooney (Mrs. Harold Bell) came to teach. She wondered why nobody skated and after some urging, Cole Davies, J. Vinestone, W. Howat and Harold Bell cleared a large area on Chrystal Lake. They hauled straw for bon fires and the first skating party was held. These were held all winter and some hockey was also played.
One enterprising young fellow, Tex Robson made his own skates. The next year 1922 the first rink was made at Robson ‘s and there has been a rink there every year since, except for two years. In the thirties and forties this rink was the scene of hockey games and skating every week as long as the ice lasted. This was the home of the “Alkali Savages”, the famous men’s hockey team. Also a ladies’ hockey team “The Haliburton Red Wings , was organized in 1933 with Jess Robson as Captain. Other players were Jean Robson, Jean and Margaret Ewen, Margaret and Anna Bell and Miss Olive Brown. The Personnel varied from year to year. There was a ladies’ hockey team for fifteen years and in that time they journeyed to Nokomis, Govan, Lanigan and Foam Lake and were never beaten. Most of the travelling was done by sleigh and horses. Once they drove to Nokomis with a covered sleigh drawn by four horses taking both Men’s and Ladies’ teams. For practise, the men played one-handed against the ladies.
Summertime it was everyone to the Ball Grounds on Sunday afternoon. Ball games were the regular feature, men, ladies and children.
The first Haliburton Picnic was in 1931, organized by Mrs. Harold Bell at the close of the school year. A.I. Lerner brought supplies for the booth from Lockwood. Picnics have been held on these grounds every year since. At that time it was known as the Smalley quarter. Arthur Nadiger purchased this land from Fred Ross. The school was closed in June 1953. Mrs. Dorothy Pomfret was the last study supervisor.
Haliburton Community Club was formed and sixteen acres were purchased from Mr. A. Nadiger for these sports grounds. Here ball games were held on Sunday and people took time out in mid-week to go as well. These picnics have turned into a Sports Day now and if you want to see old friends that congregate for this yearly picnic – then come to Haliburton Sports.
At the same time Haliburton School was purchased and remodelled for community use. Although used very little now, it is still kept up and ready for use when needed. It is used for a polling-booth for elections and Snow Club meetings as requiredWritten by: Mrs. Marion Lynch (Bell) and Mrs. Jean Eichorst (Ewen)
Thornfield School District No. 2057
The school was built in the early spring of 1908 by a man named Murphy. Jack Martin who kindly supplied these facts says, he does not know how much pay he got for it, but he does know it was not very much. There was just twenty sections in the school district at that time and the building was on one acre on Sec. 27-31-23-W2.
The name was chosen by Mrs. Jack Thompson. Mrs. Freda Kane recalls that it referred to a district or building in Mrs. Thompson’s native England.
The first school board was Jack Thompson – Chairman, Edgar Alien – Secretary-Treasurer, and Dan Carswell – Trustee.
Oscar Tisdale was the first teacher and James Gardiner was the secretary, who later became Premier of Saskatchewan and minister of Agriculture in the Federal Government was the second teacher. Due to his work the South Saskatchewan River Dam became a reality and was named the Gardiner Damn.
The schoolhouse was used as a community centre, for church and social gatherings, concerts with local talent and for dances with Ed Lambert supplying the music. Mail and supplies were obtained from Cressman Post Office, 10 miles north-west. The wood was got at Manitou Lake. Wild ducks, prairie chickens and partridge were plentiful and added to the food supply.
In 1905 homesteaders came to this area. The first to come were Mr. and Mrs. Jack Thompson and Mr. and Mrs. Airey from England. These two women were the only females for many miles around. Jack Armstrong and Maurice Hurley came in travelling by horseback in the spring of 1905 from Regina originally from England. In the summer of the same year Mr. and Mrs. Turpen Eytcheson of Ottertail County, Minn. , U. S. A. , settled also. They shipped their goods to Dundurn and drove the seventy miles with team and wagon. They had seven children with them.
Other homesteaders were Emil and Charles Hamerston, Steele brothers, Jack Wallace, Mr. and Mrs. Alec McGregor, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Richert, Mr. and Mrs. Mann, Mr. and Mrs. John Rempel and family, Ed and Ernest Lambert, Dan Carswell, Edgar Alien, Dave Hertner, Tom Hallam, Oscar Tisdale, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Lee, Mr. and Mrs. Harry Martin, Mr. Meiu, Jack Farron, Welland Bulger, Mr. and Mrs. Pilblad, Arthur Read, A. Bircumshaw, Mr. and Mrs. Friesen.
During the hard winter of 1906 and 07, the Eytcheson barn was completely drifted over, a hole was made in the roof and hay and snow dropped inside to the stock.
Other settlers who lived in the district were Mr. and Mrs. Boese and family, Henry Meyer, Fred Meyer.
Photo 1-Thornfield School, built 1908.
Photo 2 -Pupils and their vegetable gardens.
Photo 3 -Thornfield School, built 1913. BACK ROW, Left to Right: Worthy Eytcheson, Chester Eytcheson, Nettie Boese, Sarah Boese, Roy Martin, Howard Freeman. SECOND ROW: Floyd Eytcheson, Mary and Edith Airey, Nora Martin, Margaret Boese. FRONT ROW: Nelson Leigh, Arnold Eytcheson, Peter Boese, George Freeman, H. Boese.
Photo 4 -Inspectors and Trustees. Mrs. J. Armstrong in front (left).
Photo 5 -Eytcheson family and homestead shack. BACK ROW: May, Hazel, Freda, Mr. and Mrs. Eytcheson. SECOND ROW: Lawrence, Arnold. FRONT ROW: Chester, Worthy, Baby Glen
Kneller School District No. 3642
Photo 1 – Mr. and Mrs. R. Stephenson at home. Christmas 1923.
Photo 2 – Grandad Waldron
Photo 3 – Kneller School No. 3642 Miss Margaret Birtles (teacher)
Photo 4 – Kneller School Bus 1961. Driver, Alfred Applet
Photo 5 – Mrs. Stephenson’s Sunday School Class on a picnic, July 1923. Hugh Strong, Jim Smith, Dale Smith, Bert Plaster, Stephen Holdstock, Wilfred Sykes, Lorne McLeod, Garth McLeod, Gordon and Norman McLeod.
Photo 6 – Sweetwater Trail, 1931. Mrs. R. Plaster, Mrs. J. Hawes, J. Hawes, Edna Phillips, Bert Plaster, Mabel Brandon, Ida Plaster, Mrs. Bessie Steel, Pat McNalley (taking Howard Shea’s place) FRONT: Mrs. R. Stephenson, Harold Brandon, Gordon Edmunds.
Kneller School was built in 1915 with Frank McFarland as contractor. R. Plaster Sr., chose the name “Kneller”. It refers to a College of Music in Twickenham, England, where army bandsmen from all over the world are taught music.
The first School Board was composed of P. Smith, J. L. Sweeney, and Harry Waldron. The first secretary-treasurer was Wallace Armour. Miss Inez McCulloch was the first teacher and had twenty pupils enrolled.
Another early teacher at Kneller was Hugh McLeod; now Dr. Hugh McLeod, of Winnipeg one time Moderator of the United Church of Canada.
In 1923 the school was enlarged and a residence for the teacher was provided. Some teachers who lived there were Hank Roland and family, Mrs. Maxwell, Miss Hertha Marche (now Mrs. A. Applet) of Lanigan. Miss Maude Bailey, Mr. Albert Schumaker and family, Mrs. Johnson, Miss Joy Burns now (Mrs. Harryet), Miss Mabel Barton and Miss Margaret Birtles now (Mrs. P. Ritz, who was the last teacher there).
In 1951 the school was moved and placed in a more central position to serve the Otterburn District as well. Otterburn school was closed due to the low enrollment.
Some families who went to school when it was first opened were
Joas, Vonderlohs, Plasters, Smiths, Hawes, Uhrichs, Herrs, Siegfrieds, Sykes, Kanes, Armours, and later McKinnons, Schmunks, Stephensons and Wiens, Siemens, Funks, Neufelds, Friesens.
In 1955 a book was prepared by the pupils of Grade VII with the help of Mr. Hector McKinnon and Mr. Robert Plaster. Mrs. C. Plaster salvaged the book when the school was closed in June, 1959. Before the fall term opened, the school was moved north of Plunket, it was used there several years, then moved to Kandahar where it is today.
Kneller School was the centre of a very lively community, in the days before the depression. The Kneller Co-op Association was formed. Tom McVinnie, Hugh Strong Sr. and Bob Plaster were the directors. Wallace Armour was secretary-treasurer. Coal in carload lots, feed, twine and fruit were handled. There was a beef ring with Bob Plaster as President and Paul Smith was the butcher.
A Grain Growers Association was organized in 1917. Regular meetings were held every two weeks in winter in the homes with business first then a card game and lunch. In the summer the Women Grain Growers carried on. Dances were held in the schoolhouse with gasoline lamps and lanterns providing light. Harry Dewar, Mrs. H. Strong, and Lloyd Paul, Mr. and Mrs. Harry Leeson provided the music and Scotty Forbes was floor manager. People travelled in sleigh loads if possible to save room in the barn for the teams.
The Grain Growers also sponsored a Christmas Tree and provided gifts for all the children of the district. A banquet was held in the early spring for the members and their guests.
As the Annual Sports Day was held near the school at the end of June, it was looked forward to by all the communities around. Long tables were laid outside and a cold supper served. Hugh Strong Sr. was especially good at planning an interesting variety of stunts for the young. The farmers worked long and hard to finish up their late crops to be able to take the day off.
A Drama Club added much interest in the early spring. Old and young took part in some way as stage hands, prompter, director or actors and actresses. The plays were presented in the country schools, and in Lockwood, Drake, Venn, and as far away as Leroy.
A Pancake Supper of the old prospectors “sour dough” variety cooked by Paul Smith and Dick Stephenson followed by a home talent concert was another highlight.
Interested people collected money to buy baler twine, John Strong loaned his hay baler and enough hay bales were made to build walls for the skating rink. A carnival added interest one year. Hockey games were held.
In the summer church services were held in the schoolhouse. After service, lunch was served to the minister and the congregation. Then the minister would drive on by horse and buggy to Haliburton or Howat and Sunday School service was held. Billy McLeod was the first Superintendent. The enrollment reached sixty at one time. Teachers were Mrs. W. Armour, Mrs. W. McLeod, Mrs. W. Stephenson, and Mrs. R. Stephenson.
Photo : 1928 Hector McKinnon, Angus on horse, John and Moira cultivating the garden.
Wilmot School No. 14372
Photo 1 – Wilmot School No. 14372
Photo 2 – A family who went to school at Wilmot. Edna, Jean, Louis, Perry, Ethel, Anita, and Merner Ritz in 1922.
Photo 3 – Mrs. Jennie Ritz and family in 1943. Perry, Merner and Louis in uniform; Anita, Edna, Mrs. Ritz, Jean, Ethel, and Alda.
Wilmot School like Kneller, was built later and parcels of land were taken from surrounding districts. Parents felt that children had too far to go to school. It was not until 1920 that the school was constructed. The contractor was Frank (Packy) McFarland. The first teacher was Miss Alma Schmidt. She taught for awhile and then became ill and Miss Faust took her place, until she was able to return to her duties. Other teachers were Miss Elizabeth Musselman, a niece of D. B. Musselman, George Lepp, Miss Morgan, Miss John, Charlie Bell, Mr. Epp. The enrollment was 32 at one time. Families attending school included the children of Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Ritz, Mr. and Mrs. Bob Hurley, who later returned to England, Mr. and Mrs. George Ewert, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Rempel, the Sauder family, Ruby, Pearl and Nora Bartel, and Mr. and Mrs. Neufeld.
The first School Board consisted of Edwin Ritz, D.B. Musselman, Leonard Sauder. The Secretary-Treasurer was Edwin Ritz and later Mrs. Jennie Ritz. Three names were suggested for the school. They were Musselman, Usbourne and Wilmot. They were all put in a hat and drawn for and Wilmot was the one chosen. Box Socials with programs of local talent were held to buy an organ. The auctioneer was Gus Krebeil who also played Santa Claus at the Christmas Concerts.
The pupils excelled in athletics and won the Shield at a community field day held at Drake in the early twenties. Merner Ritz also won a crest for the best individual participant.
Howat School No. 2106
On July 23rd, 1908 a meeting was called and it was decided to build and furnish a school. The first Board consisted of J. McFarlane, J. Howat, J. Meikle, and they in turn looked after the financing, site and building of the school. Mr. L. Cummings’ tender was accepted to construct the building.
A special meeting of the ratepayers was called on November 26th, 1909 to elect a Board of Trustees – John Howat for a three year term, James Meikle for a two year term and Robert Haigh for a term of one year. Taxes were set at 7 l/2 cents per acre. The school opened on March 1st, 1910 with Miss Margaret Cumming as the first teacher.
The Howat Community all through the years has remained a very close knit group, ever ready to share each others joys and sorrows. Each family was made to feel important. When sickness and death came to some and a mother or father was taken from a family, the whole neighbourhood tried to ease the burden with expressions of kindness, both spiritual and physical.
Photo 1 – Howat School
Photo 2 – Joe Jarvis hauling water for Jones’ threshing outfit.
Photo 3 – Dave Jones packing land after seeding.
Photo 4 – Teacher, Eleanor Ediger, in 1945. Gordon Howat, Ray Shearer, Albert Shearer, Doreen Howat, Rosemary Pratt, Lila Patzer, Lena Pomfret, Marylin Ellis. FRONT ROW: Benny Pomfret, Ivor Turner, Russel Turner, Jack Howat, Doreen Turner, Ida Patzer, Irene Gammie, Alice Gammie
The people endeavored to make life pleasant for each other and community gatherings were organized; – such events as Whist Drives held once a week in the schoolhouse and dances with the Ellis family orchestra providing the music. A grain Growers Association kept the farmers up to date.
During the war years, a Red Cross Society raised money to pack and send parcels overseas. Mrs. Passet and Mrs. Albert Coleman headed this. Quilts were made and raffled.
The young people of the district had a Drama Club and Mrs. Eva Batisky won the award one year for the best individual performance in the Usbourne Homemakers Drama Festival held every year in the spring at Lockwood.
Man’s spiritual needs were not forgotten. Church services were held with ministers coming out from Lockwood. Mrs. Ellard Ellis taught a Sunday School class along with Mrs. Ernest Ellis; and played the organ for the hymns sometimes. Albert Coleman was superintendent.
Jack Howat, for whom the school was named, served on the council of the Prairie Rose Municipality for over twenty years. Howat School was closed in 1959 and the children were taken to Lockwood by bus. Mrs. Gudrun Blackport was the last teacher there. High School students attended Lanigan Central High School.
A good grid road serves the community now and the tiresome trips over the alkali flats in open sleighs or covered vans are a thing of the past.
The school was used as a community centre for some time and then sold to Albert Patzer.
Homesteaders in the Howat District were James Meikle, Bill Kee, Oliver Lane, Percy Meikle, J. McFarlane, Nate Phillips, G. Thompson, Bob Howat, Bob Haigh, George Eikel, Horace Calwell, Rob Johnson, Jack Hatton, Ellard Ellis, Maxwell Ellis, Ernest Ellis, Jack Howat, Albert Coleman, Archie Bell, Harry Campbell, Archie McFarlane, W. Smith, Art Smith, Dick Macklon, J.B. Davis, Mr. Beresford, Mr. Nickelson, James Forbes, John Bell, Dave Dunlop, J. Blackport and A. Gammie.
Boulder Lake School District No. 2308
Photo 1 – Mr. and Mrs. Bill Reedy
Photo 2 – Boulder Lake Ladies’ Aid 1925.
Photo 3 – BACK: Mrs. William Ruedig, Ardus Anderson, Mrs. Bommer, Bernice Zimmer. FRONT: Margaret Ruedig, Helen Fenton, Gertrude Bommer, Florence Plageman, Lois Fenton, Theresa Plageman.
Amongst the first homesteaders to come to this area were Jeff Rote and Andrew Forner from White Rock, South Dakota, in the spring of 1905. A. Hoedab and Andrew were the only inhabitants in the township in the winter of 1905. The Rote family came on January 12th, 1906.
The C. N. R. was surveyed in 1905 and in the spring of 1906 the railways was graded. The C. P. R. came as far as Strasbourg in 1906. Mail was collected at Peacock P.O.
There is a difference of opinion as to when the school was built but the sign on the school reads 1908. The first School Board consisted of Jeff Rote, Chairman, J. B. Zimmer, Secretary-Treasurer and A. C. Edwards. The school was constructed by A. C. Edwards who had to resign from the school board to do so. Mr. Greenfield Sr. assisted by his son did the interior plastering.
Any accounts of the early days are recollections of the pioneers because all records were burned in a fire which destroyed the farm home of Mr. and Mrs. E. W. Fenton during the summer of 1928. Mr. Fenton was Secretary-Treasurer at that time, other members of the board being J. B. Zimmer and J. T. Edwards. Some of the early pupils at the school were Leo Edwards, Sadie and Harry Rote and Percy B. Anderson. The largest pupil enrollment was in 1935 when forty three pupils were attending but this declined progressively until 1949 when only four pupils were registered and the school board decided to cease operating the classroom after June 10th, 1949. The last Board of Trustees were P. B. Anderson, Chairman John T. Edwards, Lawrence Gegner, Secretary-Treasurer. The last teacher was Miss Bergen.
The Boulder Lake School building as of this date has been purchased and moved to a location about 300 feet due west of the former C.P.R. station in Nokomis.
When the school first began operating, a few ladies of the district, led by the Vim, Vigor, Vitality and Resourcefulness of Mrs. John Zimmer, Mrs. John Anderson and Mrs. A. C. Edwards, also joined later by Misses Kate, Burnette, and Margaret Fenton, Mrs. Chas. Kane and Mrs. A. Forner, formed (verbally) a Co-operative Unit to provide weekly social activities for residents of the area and were very successful in every sphere, especially monetary. The ladies acquired funds to purchase a very serviceable, large piano at $500. Mrs. Anderson personally selected this “used” piano in Saskatoon. They paid for the removal of plaster and replacing that with wallboard. They purchased the material for a complete maple hardwood floor at $1, 200. They also paid for much repainting and redecorating of the interior of the school and many other items.
When the school was finally closed, a general meeting of ratepayers decided to dispose of the piano and turn the proceeds over to the Committee of Cemetery Overseers, for maintenance cost of the cemetery.
The organization of ladies of the Boulder Lake District who helped so much with the fixing up of the school were known as the “Wide Awake Community Club” and wide awake they were. They held a large well attended fall bazaar in the school annually and this was followed by a dance. The smooth hardwood floor was a great attraction. Music was supplied by Leo Edwards and Harding, Fred Becker. Later (1939) an orchestra was organized and named the “Undora Racketeers” consisting of Bert Plaster, Ralph Stack, Leo Edwards, Bill Ruedig, Ray and Norval Edwards. No other community would think of putting on a dance if Boulder Lake was holding one that week.
Homesteaders in Boulder Lake were Andrew Forner, Jeff Rote, Bill Reedy, Oscar Reedy, Herb Ruedig, Ray Reedy, Julius Bommer, John Anderson, Emil Theison, Elmer Plageman, John Edwards, Charles Kane, Henry Kane, A. C. Edwards, John Zimmer, A. Hoedad, Jack Haskin, Mr. Fenton, Sr. , Sydney Blair, Walter Fennel.
Boulder Lake Ladies First Aid
The first church services were held in Thiessen’s granary and later in the schoolhouse. A Ladies’ Aid group was functioning in the 1920’s. Some members were Mrs. John Anderson, Mrs. Zimmer, and Norma, Mrs. Marbeth Anderson, Mrs. W. Reedy, Mrs. W. Fenton, Mrs. E. Plageman, Mrs. Bommer, Mrs. Percy Anderson, Mrs. A. Forner, and later Miss Mabel Forner, Mrs. G. A. Forner and Miss Anita Ritz who was the secretary when the Aid was disbanded in 1944.
Mr. William Reedy (homesteader) wished to be buried on his own farm so he donated two acres to the Ladies’ Aid for a. cemetery, and deeded it to them. The surveying was done by a surveyor from Saskatoon. Landscaping was also planned. The Ladies’ Aid fenced it and planted a hedge around and made flower beds and gravel walks. A tool shed was built. Mr. H. Pitman was the first caretaker. Mrs. W. Fenton served as caretaker for awhile at a salary of $20 per year. Money was raised by means of bazaars and auction sales of handiwork with Fred Scott as auctioneer.
We are indebted to Andrew Forner, J. T. Edwards, and Mrs. H. Fenton for information and to Murray Ruedig for the photos.
Kutawagan School was built in 1917, by Waterman Waterbury, Regina, Saskatchewan. Ethel Powell of Virden, Manitoba was the first school teacher at a salary of $1050. She stayed with Mr. and Mrs. Noble Chute. Twenty-one children started to school. They were: Leslie Beeler, Willie and Joe Birtles, Gerald Burrell, Donald, Earl, and Harold Chute, Florence and Ethel Denniss, Michael, Jack and Marjorie Hobman, Eva, Louise, and Jack Larrar, and Ted, Archie, Lambert, and Joe Lugheed, Violet Lewis, Campbell McGregor, and Kathleen O’Brian.
The last teacher was Mrs. Ada Birtles. The school closed in 1940, then the children went to Richfarms School.
Photo – Mrs. Ada Birtles, Perry Ritz. Model T in Centennial Parade.
Floradale School District No. 2653
Photo 1 – Pupils at Floradale 1924.
Photo 2 – Sunday School (early 30’s) – Superintendent D. B. Musselman, (families) McKenzie’s, E. Magnes, O. Magnes, Bommer, Gillis, Hummason, Ritz, W. L. Brown, (only singles) W. J. White, Mrs. Anderson, Blanche Phillips, Fred Becker, Nora Killeen
Photo 3 – Mr. Bommer’s Sunday School Class: Ross Morningstar, Student minister, Mr. Nunn, Perry Ritz, Mr. Bommer, Merner Ritz, Bud Forner, Chaplin, Russell Magnes, G. Chaplin. FRONT: Ralph Lindsay, Harold Magnes
When there were enough children of the early pioneers of west Lockwood to require a school, Floradale school was built in 1910. The first local Board consisted of Oscar Magnes, Chas. Campbell, Andrew Waugensteen, with W. L. Brown as secretary-treasurer.
There have been many teachers through the years, one of the first was Miss McKnight, a tall prim woman who wore high button boots and lace-collared dresses fastened with a cameo pin (popular at that time). Perhaps to supplement her salary, or maybe for something to do, she took orders for ladies’ fitted corsets. Other teachers were Miss Carrie Fraser, and Miss Edna Stevenson, who later became Mrs. Alex McKinnon. Mrs. Blanche (Story) Phillips, taught for twelve years at Floradale a dedicated teacher who loved her pupils and they loved her in return. She taught them more than the 3 R’s. She taught the girls to be young ladies with manners and poise, and the boys to be honest and fair. She was a fine musician and the children enjoyed singing and dancing.
Other members of the school board were Neil McKenzie, Julius Bommer and W. F. Chaplin, who was secretary for many years.
The school was the centre of the social activities of the district. The Floradale Community Club was formed to acquire a piano for the school (to replace the old organ) and to provide a library of reading material. W. J. White and Jim Gillis were the “stage hands and makeup handlers” for the Minstrel Shows and plays put on which toured the surrounding towns.
Many were the Card Parties and Box Socials and gay were the dancers who stepped to the strains of old time waltzes and two-steps, played by Mrs. Phillips, W. L. Brown, Mac Cumming and others who could play. Later on Helen and Amy Magnes, Pete Fisher, Fred Becker were the music makers. Money was scarce in those days and entertainment was made up by local people and their talent so willingly given was appreciated.
There was also a thriving Sunday School. The Superintendent and Bible Class teacher was D. B. Musselman. The boys’ senior class was led by Julius Bommer and the senior girls’ class by Mrs. Oscar Magnes. The juniors were directed by Mrs. Chas. Campbell and Mrs. L. Hummason. Mrs. D.B. Musselman was the organist. Mrs. A. Forner (Anita Ritz) tells of the Lockwood United Church choir coming out to sing one Sunday. Sometimes ministers would come to preach, but the Sunday School carried on regularly.
Some of the early homesteaders and farmers of West Lockwood were Arthur Brown and his son W. L. Brown, E. A. Magnes, Oscar Magnes, the Birketts, Choppers, Kusicks, W. F. Chaplin, Alf Anderson, Chas. Campbell, L. A. Hummason, Shorty Sailor, Michael Killeen, Frank Stinchcombe and Julius Bommer. W. J. White Sr. and Walter Scott established farms. The Scott farm had a large red barn, on the front of which was a painted “Craigleigh 1914”. This farm was later bought by the Government for an Experimental Station, at first mainly for weeds, and grasses, then beef cattle, managed by Mr. Kirk and after he was transferred, Mr. Gardie Bryan and Howard took over.
The White farms was the home of a fine herd of registered Holstein cattle. This farm at one time employed twenty men. In the yard were three houses and two barns. A gardener was employed to care for the flowers and trees. It was a show place of the district. Mr. W. J. White, Jr., was an ardent sports fan. He organized and was coach of a girls’ softball club. Many softball and baseball games were played in the old picnic grounds in White’s pasture. The day being brought to a close with everyone enjoying a banquet of salads and good things to eat. The finale of all being community singing in the firelight.
Floradale was closed in 1955. Gus Froese was the last teacher there. It was empty for two years, sold and removed. All that now remains are the tough old maple trees bordering the yard which used to ring with laughter of children at play and memories of annual school picnics
Lockwood School Ice Carnival 1940 or 1941
A school ice carnival was held. Prizes for costumes went to Dorothy Eichorst, Douglass Blackport, Irma McKinnon, Kenneth Urquhart. Prizes for races, Bert Meissner, George Hummason, Esther Eichorst, Fern Hummason, Frieda Meissner, Jean Norton, Billy Ellis, Lloyd Herr, Relay race was won by June Fischer, Lloyd Herr, Helen Hummason, and Emil Meissner team.
John Hurley and Robert Urquhart donated two chickens which were raffled off. Proceeds for Junior Red Cross. $12. 90 was realized.
Photo: 1965 – Jubilee Parade – Taken from the Nokomis Times
Photo 1- Clayton Hobman, one of two Saskatchewan 4-H boys chosen by the Dagliesk Shipping Co. to visit England on an all expense paid trip
Photo 2- Boy’s Beef Club Achievement Day
Photo 3- R. H. Plaser holds Leadership Awards for 17 years
Photo 4- Mrs. Anita Forner holds Leadership Awards for 13 years in Homecraft Club
Photo 5- Homecraft assistant, leaders and girls at work
Photo 6- R. Morningstar, C. Hobman, L. Morningstar, Dale Turner. Winners of Agricultural District No. 20 4-H Trophy, two years running; 1957
Photo 7- 4-H Float in Jubilee Parade
The Usborne Homemakers
For over forty-four years the Usbourne Homemakers have never failed to contribute to the cultural,educational and social needs of the Lockwood community.
On May 4th, 1923, a group of ladies who had lately belonged to the Jutland Carlyle Chapter of the I. O. D. E. at Lockwood, met in the waiting room of the hotel for the purpose of organizing a Homemakers Club.
Some of these women were Mrs. Claude Bell, Mrs. Schinner, Miss Beulah Stinchcomb, Mrs. Helen Morningstar, Mrs. J. Wallace, Mrs. C. Campbell, Mrs. Davies, Sr. , Mrs. E.D. Gardiner, Mrs. L. Hummason. It is thought that Mrs. Davies was the first president, the earliest minutes were destroyed but it is known that Miss Beulah Stinchcomb, now Mrs. Bishop, was the first secretary-treasurer.
From the later minute books we find that a birthday anniversary for the club was held on May 4th, 1940 and a cake with seventeen candles graced the table – making the founding date 1923.
The first thing undertaken was the improvement of the cemetery. The cemetery committee in 1937 was Mrs. E. Armstrong, Mrs. Jennie Ritz and Mrs. J. Blackport of the Prairie Rose Club. The old hall built in the early years was finally condemmed and the Homemakers decided to try to raise the money for a new one. In 1937 two-thirds of the bazaar money was turned into the hall fund. In the minutes of April 2nd, 1937, it reads – “Moved by Mrs. Ritz, seconded by Mrs. Morningstar, that we lend money to the Lockwood Curling Club.”
On October 15th, 1937 a fowl supper was held in the United Church basement; prices were adults admission 25 cents and children 15 cents and a concert was held in the old hall.
When the curling rink was built, suppers were served at bonspiels. The hall committee at this time was the very energetic and purposeful group of Mrs. Gardiner, Mrs. R. Plaster, Sr. , Mrs. J. Ritz, Mrs. Campbell, Mrs. Wallace and Miss Lily Meissner. Mr. Gardie Bryan, Mr. Ivey, Mr. John Ediger and Mr. Alf Anderson were advisers and the building committee. How well the community responded to their call for aid is shown by this entry in the minute book.
Record of Community Hall – “On October 17th, 1939, the first load of gravel was hauled. On November 10th, twenty-five days later we held our opening dance, taking in upwards of $130.00 – Signed ‘K. Anderson’.”
The Second World War brought calls for help, and the Homemakers responded by forming a War Services Committee, it included Red Cross Sewing, Salvage Drives and quilts were made for refugees. Mrs. C. Campbell was in charge of the quilt project. At one time seven quilts were being quilted in the hall at the same time. A movie projector was bought for community use, and was later turned over to the school.
Oratory contests were started. Later the Lanigan School Unit adopted the idea.
Interest in gardening was stimulated by the annual Horticultural Show. Gladioli culture and perennials were favorites. Mr. Robinson from the University of Saskatchewan judged the entries. Interest in the care of the mentally ill was aroused by speakers and a drive is held each fall for funds for research.
Centennial projects were a Friendship Quilt embroidered with 340 names. It was won by eight year old Keith Ritz. Another project was the painting of the Community Hall.
Other Homemakers who served along and well are Mrs. Peter Barber, Hall secretary and active on War Services, Mrs. Chaplin, Cemetery and Agriculture and Mrs. Hamm on Education, Mrs. W. Pederson, Mrs. G. Amer, and Mrs. Isobel McKinnon. Mrs. Hislop and Mrs. Norton were inspiring Presidents and Mrs. Alf Anderson, a faithful and competent secretary in earlier years.
The Honor Roll for those who served during the Second World War 1939-1944 was prepared by Mrs. C. Campbell, Mrs. S. McNichol, Alec Meissner, Sr. It now hangs in the Legion Hall.
Present Executive is as follows:
Mrs. H. Bartel ………. President
Mrs. R. Wood. …………1st Vice-President
Mrs. W. Meyer …………2nd Vice-President
Mrs. George Hummason …. Secretary-Treasurer
The Prairie Rose Homemakers Club
This club was organized in July, 1933. Members of the Usbourne Club who lived east of town decided to form a club on their own because of the distance to travel and the large membership roll.
The first President was Mrs. Ellard Ellis and the first secretary was Mrs. Harold Bell. The name of their Municipality was chosen. Charter members living here now are Mrs. Mary Blackport, Mrs. Ellard Ellis, Mrs. Carry Wood, Mrs. Anna (Ellis) Wilson, Mrs. Verna (Ellis) Morningstar. Mrs. Meldrum and Mrs. Coleman were faithful president and secretary for many years. Mrs. Meldrum received a Life Membership in 1954. These two ladies have since passed on. A total of 44 members joined through the years.
The 25th Anniversary was observed in September, 1958 at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Abe Eichorst. The club succeeded in keeping a good community spirit alive.
At the beginning, the care of the cemetery was shared by Usbourne Homemakers but later the full care was accepted. Mrs. Mary Blackport served many years on this committee. Many improvements were made, such as attractive stone pillars added to the gates. The cemetery is now one that the community can be proud of. Mr. James Jasper has been the caretaker for many years.
Other projects included a Christmas dinner served to all the bachelors at the Lockwood Hotel. Gifts to remember the sick and shut-ins; also assisting with a Welcome Home Banquet in May, 1946 for the returned men of two World Wars and one in 1955 for the pioneers who were here before 1910. They also assisted at three district conventions. A school picnic with treats was their contribution every summer at Howat School District and a trip to Manitou Beach for the members and their families.
Prizes were given for 4-H activities and for curling. Bonspiels, tea, bazaars, and fowl suppers added to the social life and provided funds for many charitable donations. In the Diamond Jubilee and Centennial celebrations their colorful and original floats added greatly to the excitement. They prepared the lunch for the monstrous old time dance and birthday party commemorating Canada’s 100th year held June 30th, 1967.
Other charter members not mentioned before are Mrs. Eva (Batisky) Ellison, Mrs. Hugh Bell, Mrs. Frank Pomfret, Mrs. W. Ewen, Mrs. H. Chute, Sr.
Present executive is President; Mrs. W. Blackport, Secretary; Mrs. N. Dumanski and Treasurer, Mrs. Bob Smith.
Photo: Prairie Rose Homemakers 1934. Taken at Mrs. Rennie’s home. TOP ROW: Margaret Ewen, Verna Pomfret, Lottie Meikle, Mary Massie, Eva, Verna and Margaret Ellis, Ella Chute, Ethel Carter. SECOND ROW: Hilda Ellis, Mary Bell, Olive Brown, Mrs. Hugh Bell, Mrs. Wentz, Mrs. Coleman. THIRD ROW: Mrs. Blackport, Mrs. Pratt, Alice Roland, Dorothy Howat, Mrs. Rucks, Ruby Pinkerton, Mrs. Meldrum, Marjorie Hobman, Mrs. Carter, Mrs. Ewen. FOURTH ROW: Bobby and Gordon Howat, Mrs. Chute, Mrs. Gammie, Mrs. Massie, Mrs. Harold Bell, Olive Pomfret, Anna and Mary Ellis, Mrs. Dunlop. FRONT ROW: Gladys Nornberg and Billie Ellis.
Photo 1 – Homemakers quilting party at the Hislop home, summer of 1941. BACK: Mrs. Annie Wallace, Mrs. Gardie Bryan, Mrs. Helen Morningstar, Mrs. Jennie Ritz. FRONT: Mrs. Norton, Mrs. Hislop, Mrs. Chaplin, Mrs. Hurley, Mrs. L. A. Hummason.
Photo 2 – Usbourne Homemakers Christmas party at the L.H. Hummason home, 1962. FIRST ROW: Janice Attfield, Jean Langteigne, Mrs. Emma Magnes, Edna McKenzie and Lori, Mrs. Ed. Magnes, Mrs. J. Ediger. SECOND ROW: Marjorie Pederson, Margaret Stephenson, Melody Pederson. THIRD ROW: June Hughes, Bernice Hummason, Eileen Herr, Mrs. Reddicop, Bessie Wood. FOURTH ROW: Lorena Bartel, Eleanor Kabernick, Isobel Meyer, Grace Hughes, Peggy Zealand, Nora Langteigne, Joan, Anne and Linda Wood.
Photo 3 – Usbourne Homemakers entertain their husbands, St. Patrick’s Day party, 1953. BACK: Mrs. Wasylinki, Mrs. Karachun, Mrs. Hamm, Mrs. L. Hummason, Mrs. L. Pederson, Mrs. B. Weber, Mrs. Bessie Wood and Joan, Mrs. Grace Hughes, Mrs. Annie Chaplin, Mrs. Nora Langteigne, Mrs. Margaret Stephenson, Mrs. R. Morningstar, Chas. Campbell is a guest at the far end of the table
Photo 4 – Prairie Rose Float 1967
Photo 5 – Members receiving Life Membership pins, 1965. Mrs.. E. Ellis, Mrs. D. Wilson, Mrs. L. Hummason, Mrs. R. Stephenson.
Photo 6 – Prairie Rose Homemakers, 1955 at the R. Smith home. BACK: Mrs. D. Wilson, Mrs. J. Assman, Kay Edwards, Mrs. H. Bryan, Margaret Plaster, Mrs. E. Ellis, Mrs. R. Pinkerton, Mrs. J. Blackport, Mrs. Leo Edwards, Mrs. Freda Kane. LEFT: Mrs. M. Ruedig, Mrs. R. Morningstar, Mrs. N. Dumanski, Mrs. Bob Smith, Baby Irma Ruedig.
Lockwood Branch Royal Canadian Legion No. 368 B.E.S.L.
A general meeting of ex-servicemen of Lockwood was called on December 5th, 1956 for the purpose of forming a branch of the Canadian Legion. Due to severe cold weather only 13 were present. Speaker Mr. Cameron, Zone Commander from Raymore could not be present for the same reason. Provisional slate of officers elected were Norb Joa, President, Evan Garry, Secretary.
On January 30th, 1958, Officers were elected as follows: President- N. A. Joa, 1st Vice-President Don Lynch, 2nd Vice-President J. L. Ritz, Sgt. -at-Arms J. Birtles, Secretary-Treasurer E. Garry, Committees-Social and Entertainment O. Pederson, E. Carry, G. Birtles, H. Coleman. Welfare and Sick L. Ritz, D. Lynch, B. Forner. Charter Members are: Perry Ritz, R. Shearer, G. Ewen, H. Hurley, E. Turner, E. Kabernick, D. Williams, C. Buckmaster, J. Blackport, W. Coleman, M. Wood, L. Magnes, Carry Wood, Peter Barber, Albert Cope, W. J. Ritz.
Honorary Members: – Leonard Funk, Art Joa, M. Ruedig, M. Ritz of Armstrong, Ontario.
Work of canvassing for the Rheumatism and Arthritic Society was carried out annually. Generous donations were given to the skating and curling rinks and to minor ball. Prizes were given for the Remembrance Day Essays, Wreaths for Remembrance Day celebrations were provided. Entertainment for the community included dances and card parties and bon-spiels. Zone curling was entered into and a Zone Rally was held in 1959. A fine club room was built. Members deceased since Branch was formed are: Pte. Albert Cope, Pte. W.J. Ritz, L.A.C. Milton Wood.
Ladies’ Auxiliary to the Royal Canadian Legion
On November 6th, 1957 the Lockwood Legion invited all ladies interested in forming an auxiliary to their branch to a meeting with Zone Commander Cameron as guest speaker. This resulted in the formation of a Ladies’ Auxiliary. Officers elected were: President – Ethel Forner, Fist Vice-President – Emma Turner, Secretary-Treasurer – Wilda (Billy) Garry, Standard Bearer – Florence Birtles.
A Christmas Dinner Hamper was raffled which gave a fine financial boost. Initiation meeting was held at the Doug Williams home on March 30th, 1958 with Mrs. Pickrell, Zone Representative as guest. Charter members are: Ethel Forner, Wilda Garry, Helen Williams, Bessie Coleman, Emma Turner, Marion Lynch, Ruby Ritz, Dorothy Pomfret, Eleanor Kabernick, Marion Marcotte, Florence Birtles, Grace Ewen, and Aline Ritz.
Projects undertaken were Armistice Day Teas and Bake Sales, with sale of veterans’ handicrafts from the Geriatric Centre in Regina, Fowl Suppers; Donations to Veterans’ Comfort Fund and Bursary Fund, Scholarships to local Grade VIII students, for general proficiency, furnishing and care of the Legion Club room, canvass for C. N. I. B. , serving for Legion Rally banquets, catering for Golden Wedding Anniversary for Mr. and Mrs. Joa, handling booths at Lockwood’s Centennial Sports Day, generous donation to the Community’s Centennial Project – The Skating Rink, and to the Lockwood Sports Association.
1967 Officers: President – Ethel Forner, 1st Vice-President – Marion Lynch, 2nd Vice-President – Emma Turner, Secretary – Jean Eichorst, Treasurer – Aline Ritz, Standard Bearer – Florence Birtles, Present membership – 10. Ladies’ Zone Bonspiel was held in Lockwood in 1966. Total members through the years numbered 20
Photo 1 – 1959 Preparing to cater for Legion Rally. BACK: Mrs. Marion Marcotte, Mrs. Ruby ?z, Mrs. Aline Ritz. SECOND: Mrs. Emma ?ner, Mrs. Marion Lynch, Mrs. Helen ?liams, Mrs. Florrie Birtles. FRONT: Mrs. Bessie Coleman, Mrs. Ethel Forner, Mrs. Dorothy Pomfret, Mrs. Grace Ewen.
Photo 2 – Legion color party and float, Centennial Parade, June 30, 1967.
Photo 3 – Legion Hall with Centennial flag and symbols.
Photo 4 – .Auxiliary members 1967. BACK: Dorothy Pomfret, Betty Ruedig, Ethel Forner, Florrie Birtles, Emma Turner, Jean Eichorst. FRONT: Mrs. A. Joa, Marion Lynch.
Photo 5 – Parade 1944. E. Meissner, D. Kane, A. Ritz.
Photo 6 – Pageant 1955. M. Ritz, G. Froese, N. Joa
Photo 1 – Old-Timer Hockey Team. BACK: Clayton Hobman, Ross Carlson, Lloyd Herr, Bob McLaren, John Hurley. center: Hilton Hughes, Gerald Sunquist, Bob Burns, Larry Wentz, Albert Patzer, Ed Meissner, Bergen FRONT: Willie Meyer, Don Lynch.
Photo 2 – Sask. Northern Final Winners Baseball Team I960. BACK: Dale Turner, Don Herr, Lloyd Herr, Bob McLaren, Gerald McLaren. FRONT: Jack Howat, Don Howat, Reg Plaster, Gordon Howat, Hilton Hughes, Dennis Hobman
Photo 3 – Early football (1907-08). BACK: 5th from left is Charles Campbell. EXTREME RIGHT: (front) Billy McLeod. Jim, Jack, George, Murdock and Charlie McLeod.
Photo 4 – Nokomis Ladies’ Spiel 1958. BACK: June Hughes, Ida Assman, Billy Garry. FRONT: Isobel Meyer.
Photo 5 – Centennial Bonspiel Four Generations. Andrew Forner, Bud Forner, Harvey Forner, Barbara Forner.
Photo 6 – Centennial Skating Rink.
Photo 7 – New Curling Rink 1961.
Photo 8 – Old curling rink 1936. Ronald Morningstar, Darwin Dumanski
Association football was the first sport at Lockwood. The young bachelors walked in from their homesteads in the evening to play on a field near where the school now stands. James G. Gardiner, teacher at Thornfield School, used to play as did Chas. Campbell, Jim Murdock, George and Jack McLeod and Billy McLeod (father of Jackie McLeod, couch of the National Hockey Team) Cole Davis, Bill Rusnel and a man named Pinnes, and Bert, Claude, and Guy Bell.
A team known as the “Thistles” played on a football field in the Kneller district just south of Angus McKinnon’s farm. Some players were Ernie McClelland, Ernie Ellis, Jimmy Kennedy, Alec and Allan McKinnon, and others.
Lockwood Baseball Club was in a league with Drake, Lanigan, Guernsey and Jansen in 1919. According to the pioneers, this was a good team and won first money at Watrous sports one year. Ray Eldred one of the old-timers excelled in this sport. W. J. White was official umpire. Some players were Lloyd, Ivan and Percy Anderson, Steve and Bill Dickens, Swen Swenson, Hector McLeod, Alec McKinnon, Clarence Sloan, and Billy McLeod was manager.
During the “dirty thirties” Lockwood displayed good ball teams, playing mainly tournament ball. A few performing for Lockwood during this era were Peter Barber, W. A. Mason, Bob Gardiner, Pete and Walter Fischer, Ward and Harris Neubar, Klillard Eldred, Gordon Sutherland, Ron Genge, August Seigfried and John “Red” Blackport. The team played mainly tournament ball and had some real battles with the then famous Gunther family team from Lanigan.
A girls’ softball team was organized and coached by W. J. White in 1934. It included such players as Blanche Burrell, catcher Frances Hummason (later playing with Saskatoon Ramblers) Verna Ellis, Lydia Krell, Alice Magnes, Verna Pomfret, Norma Ellis, and Haldis Sather, The navy and gold uniforms were a common sight at all the sport days in the district. The team played at Saskatoon and Regina Caps came to Lockwood to play.
During the war years softball only was played, then in the years 1946-1948 baseball took over from softball. Lockwood joined a junior league known as the Quill Lake League. The club formed with Peter Barber as coach and assisted by W. J. White. The team included such players as B. Jones, I. Herr, H. Hughes, N. McKenzie, Geo. Hummason, D. Barber, D. Pinkerton, L. Herr, W. Meyer, M. Stephenson, F. Pederson, E. Herr, J. Hurley, G. Reimer and G. Amer. In 1949 and 1950 Lockwood took part in provincial play-offs losing out to Bruno and Wynyard respectively.
The year 1951 saw the start of senior baseball, with Lockwood playing a. prominent part in exhibition and sports day competition. Then in 1960 a league was formed including Lockwood, Lanigan and Guernsey. This league expanded to six teams with additions from Semans, Raymore and Govan in 1961 and became the Long Lake Baseball league which is very prominent in Saskatchewan Baseball Association play. Numerous players have been used by the ball team over the years, many remaining in the district. Senior ball players included G. Howat, I. Herr, J. McLaren, B. McLaren, P. Wiens, J. Hurley, B. Serfling, L. Rahn, M. Ruedig, E. Meissner, L. Herr, D. Barber, B. Jones, W. Nornberg, H. Hughes, L. Assman, B. Burns, R. Plaster, D. Howat, J. Howat, D. Herr and Ed. Ritz. Some of these players were on the team that won the Northern Provincial Championship in 1965.
Hockey took no back seat during the years and in the twenties Slim Wood was one of the outstanding players of this area. Mr. Wood had played his earlier hockey with the great Eddie Shore. During the 1930’s, Lockwood was always able to ice a good team and W. A. Mason refereed the home games. Some of the players at this time were Emmanuel Schmunk, Klillard Eldred, Fred Meissner, Ward Neubar, Bob Gardiner, Esaw Ellis, Fred Hummason, Gordon Sutherland, Sam Seigfried, John “Red” Blackport, and Floyd Young, Howard Gerald, Harold and Bruce Bryan, Gordon Anderson and Ed. Meissner. This team disbanded when the Second World War began and most of these young men went to their country’s defense in the armed services.
In the 1940’s the Hockey Club again took form, but was made up of the young fellows going to school. High school and junior hockey teams were the going thing due to the lack of senior teams because of the war. This young hockey team cut its teeth playing against the Alkali Savages, led by the Robson brothers, Tex and Bill. Later the team won several tournaments at Govan and Strasbourg. Some of the boys performing at this time were Del Barber, John Hurley, Forrest Pederson, Barclay Jones, Dave Pinkerton, Bert Meissner, Lloyd and E. Herr, Hilton Hughes, Neil McKenzie, Adam Serfling, Bill Ellis, Gordon Howat and Willie Meyer.
After the war years some of the veterans returning helped to carry the load with their experience. Senior hockey returned once again to the various towns. By 1950-1952 Lockwood was holding its own in Senior competition. In 1953 some of the boys played with Nokomis in
Intermediate “C” competition. Later the senior team disbanded due to a shortage of players and some of the boys played for other teams.
In 1965 the Lockwood Old-Timers Hockey team was formed by John Hurley and Lloyd Herr. This team enjoys friendly competition from old-timers teams in surrounding towns of Drake, Nokomis, Jansen, Simpson and Humboldt.
As for softball, a team from the Howat district led by the Blackport brothers, had taken part in many tournaments during the fifties and still play on sports day.
Neil McKenzie was a top contender in track and field and won first place at Lanigan school unit meet at Lanigan in 1948
Hockey And Baseball Sports Associations – 1967
Minor Baseball – President – George Scott
– Secretary – Ed Meissner
Teams – Sandlot – Newt Taylor, Murray Ruedig
– Bantam – Cyril Plaster, Jerry Zealand
– Midget – Nick Dumanski, Bobbie Turnie
Hockey team – Old-Timers – Manager – John Hurley
– Coach – Lloyd HerrWritten by John Hurley and Hilton Hughes
Some money was borrowed from the Usbourne Homemakers and the rest was donated by interested persons. The building of the rink was done by volunteer labor.
With the opening of the curling rink the social life changed. In winter interest centered around the rink. Women made their finest casseroles and baked their best pies for the bonspiels.
The following article appeared in the March 4th, 1937 edition of the Lockwood news published in connection with the Nokomis Times:Lockwood First Curling Bonspiel a Huge Success
Schmunk, Campbell, McPherson, Stinson. Other rinks reaching the eights: McKinnon, Mason, Ediger, Bell.
Simmons, Bell, Eldred, Anderson. Other rinks reaching the eights are: Wallace, McKinnon, Sutherland, Stinson.
Urquhart, Barber, McPherson, Ritz. Other rinks reaching the eights are: Henderson, Wallace, McPherson and Stinson.
LOCKWOOD CURLING CLUB
Simmons, Mason, McKinnon, Wallace. Other rinks reaching the eights are: Urquhart, Barber, Sutherland, Phil Barber
Phil Barber, Ediger, Henderson, Ivey. Play for the White Challenge Cup, (Grand Aggregate) was complete last night.
Rinks in order of skip, third, second, and lead.
Eldred, G. Siegfried, A. Lerner, L. Eldred.
J. Ediger, D. Ediger, Kube, Morningstar.
J.I. Wallace, A. Norton, Ellard Ellis, J. G. Wallace.
J. Anderson, J. Genge, C. Rodenbush, Mrs. H. Herr.
Ritz, J. Assman, J. Meissner, Mrs. E. Gardiner.
E. Schmunk, S. Seigfried, E. Stukert, A. Blackport.
Peter Barber, G. Bryan, Ted Fischer, Mrs. K. Sutherland.
Phil Barber, G. Heffelfinger, A. Meissner, G. Stukert.
G. Urquhart, J. Blackport, A. Chaplin, Mrs. Joe Wallace.
Hugh Bell, B. Plaster, L. Hummason, D. Wilson.
McPherson, R. Armstrong, J. Hallam, Miss A. Wallace.
A. McKinnon, B. Campbell, J. Bryan, H. Bryan.
A. W. Ivey, E. Gardiner, Miss I. Meissner, Miss I. Ivey.
A. Simmons, R. Gardiner, Miss E. Walsh, Miss G. Hurley.
Henderson, W. J. White, F. Becker, A. Anderson.
C. Campbell, N. Dumanski, H. Magnes, Miss M. Campbell.
W. A. Mason, H. Herr, Mrs. Mason, W. Brown.
H. Stinson, H. Johnson, Mrs. Urquhart, Miss E. Meissner
People from the different communities really got to know each other as they played on the same rink and barriers went down.
A community school bonspiel was held when the country schools brought in rinks and all ate supper together.
A fine new curling rink was built in 1961 and a drive made for a fund for new rocks in 1966 which was oversubscribed.
The Ladies’ Curling Club was organized in 1952 with Mrs. E. D. Gardiner as President, Mrs. W. E. Hughes as Secretary-Treasurer. Regular weekly curling with annual bonspiel and banquets were held with neighbouring towns participating.
Improvements were made to the kitchen of the new rink built in 1961. Present executive – President – Mrs. Isobel Meyer and Mrs. W. J. Birtles, Secretary-Treasurer.
Taking part in the Centennial Bonspiel was a rink comprising four generations – Andrew Forner, Bud Forner, Harvey Forner and Barbara Forner.
The following is a write up of the Centennial Bonspiel:
“The 1967 Centennial Bonspiel is past history. It ended February 25th. The rink was decorated with Centennial symbols and many players wore the pins and colorful crests, not to mention the Centennial beards. Hot lunches and suppers were served all week by the ladies of the community.
The Brandon draw was used for the first time and there were ten events. Results were as follows :
Homesteaders – Bill Hendry.
Prospectors – 1st G. Zealand, 2nd D. Howat
Trail Blazers – 1st A. Caspar of Drake, 2nd N. Taylor
Sod Busters – 1st G. Bergen of Drake, 2nd J. Edwards
Plow Jockeys – 1st M. Ruedig, 2nd R. Morningstar
Cow Punchers – 1st Ron Morningstar, 2nd W. Meyer
Hobos – 1st G. Hummason, 2nd B. Plaster
Bull Durham – 1st D. Harris, 2nd L. Funk
Horse Traders – 1st L. Morningstar, 2nd H. Nadiger
Last Chance – 1st Ed. Meissner, 2nd Ray Shearer”
While addressing the Centennial Banquet in Regina on February 18, 1967, famous Canadian raconteur, John Fisher, said that no one loved a party more than the people of Saskatchewan. Because of this we have had three very successful celebrations in our province within the last few years. The people of Lockwood have proved that they too, love a party !
In 1955 Saskatchewan celebrated her Golden Jubilee. The year was set aside as a time to take stock of our history and to honour our pioneer citizens. Here in Lockwood, the Home-makers Clubs held a banquet honouring those people who settled here first. Following the banquet a pageant, depicting our province’s progress, was presented.
In 1965 our province had grown ten years older and more experienced and so had Lockwood. Hence, we undertook a more elaborate celebration. In April, a pageant was once again prepared and presented in honour of our pioneer citizens. Then, on June 30, an old-fashioned Sports Day was held. This proved to be a very successful event. The day began with a 27 item parade led by the Jansen Band in their colorful uniforms. There were softball games for all ages as well as such entertainment as horseshoes and various races. A miniature museum was set up in the Legion Hall to display many articles of interest to all. In the evening a sumptuous supper was served in the Community Hall and a dance completed a very full but happy day.
In 1967 every Canadian celebrated our one hundredth birthday. In every community one or more projects were carried out. Here in Lockwood our closed-in skating rink was completed and on June 30, Centennial Eve, we had a. birthday party. The day began with ceremonies to officially open our rink. Following this the large 38 piece parade wound down from the school grounds led by the Regina Lions Junior A Band. Most of the floats carried out a Centennial theme with men and ladies in costumes of 100 years ago or longer. One float depicted the very first Canadians – the Indians. There were also antique cars, restored and proudly driven by their owners.
In the afternoon softball, baseball, horseshoes and other games of skill were enjoyed in the Sports Grounds. Over 700 people entered the grounds to watch or take part in the activities or just to visit with old friends.
The Legion Hall was set aside as a meeting place for old friends and many availed themselves of the opportunity to renew acquaintances over a friendly cup of tea. A display of old pictures and centennial quilts added interest. In the school a display of children’s work was visited by many of our guests. A delicious cold-plate supper was once again served in the Community Hall and was enjoyed by about 400 people, many of them former residents who had returned to help us celebrate.
In the evening not one, but two gala dances were held. In the Community Hall the Robson Orchestra played a fine selection of old favorites while in the Skating Rink the Bod Squad from Regina played for those who preferred their style of music. At midnight, amid the raucous blare of noisemakers, one hundred candles were lit on a giant birthday cake. While the cake was cut, the huge crowd present sang “Happy Birthday”, O Canada” and “Auld Lang Syne”.Mrs. Isobell Myer
Photo 1 – Prize winning costume. Mrs. Peggy Zealand.
Photo 2 – Prize winning float. Glen Hobman, and Doug Hobman.
Photo 3 – Centennial Project 1967
I’ve reached the land of frozen wheat
Where nothing grows for man to eat.
The wind that Mows the cold and sleet
Across the prairie is hard to beat.
Oh! Prairie Land, sweet prairie land,
As on the burning sands I stand
I look away across the plains,
And wonder why it never rains,
And Gabriel blows his trumpet sound
And says the rains have passed around.
We have no wheat, we have no oats,
We have no corn to feed our shoats,
Our hens they are too poor to lay
Go scratching dust along the way.
Our horses are of the broncho race
Starvation stares them in the face,
We do not live, we only stay,
We are too poor to move away.
Oh lord, have mercy on the bach (bachelor)
And send them women by dispatch.
They’re cooking scones and floggers yet;
Old Lockwood town they’ll ne’er forget
All day we tramp behind the plow
Mid flying ants and mosquitoes now,
We seek our shack to get some rest
And curse the day that we came west.By the late H.M. Beeler (1905-06) Nokomis
I’ve chopped the wood and heaved the coal
Can’t warm the place to save my soul.
Now something new has come to pass,
We heat and cook with natural gas.
The granaries full we look around,
We’ll have to pile it on the ground.
But by the Wheat Board we’ve been told,
Our wheat to Russia we have sold.
The steel mills are here to stay
And plenty more are on the way.
With industries all moving in,
Saskatchewan will surely win.
And when we get to Fort Qu’Appelle
Or Lac La Ronge, it’s really swell.
The lakes and trees are grand to see,
Contrasting with the vast prairie
And now we have the mighty dam
Upon the South Saskatchewan.
Our farms are all electrified
And water flows on every side.
And there is our new potash mine
Which Lanigan thinks is fine.
Saskatchewan can really boast
We send potash from coast to coast.
We love our home, Saskatchewan.
From southern plains to northern woods,
The gas, the oil, the wheat and foods.
For work and play and wind and sun
There’s no place like our Saskatchewan1960 Version
We have attempted to portray a cross-section of life in the Lockwood Community through the years. We wish to thank those who have contributed in any way. Please forgive any errors or omissions.
The Centennial Book Committee 1967
- • Editor
- Mrs. R. T. Stephenson
- • Typists
- Mrs. Gwen Sutherland
- Miss Connie Jones
- Miss June Hughes